Provinces in Armenia

Armenia is divided into 11 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces in Armenia:

Provinces in Armenia

  1. Aragatsotn
  2. Ararat
  3. Armavir
  4. Gegharkunik
  5. Kotayk
  6. Lori
  7. Shirak
  8. Syunik
  9. Tavush
  10. Vayots Dzor
  11. Yerevan (The capital city is treated as a separate administrative division.)

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia, bordered by Turkey to the west, Georgia to the north, Azerbaijan to the east, and Iran to the south.
Capital Yerevan
Official Language Armenian
Population Approximately 2.97 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 29,743 square kilometers (11,484 square miles)
Geography Varied landscapes including mountains, valleys, and the volcanic Lake Sevan.
Government Republic
Currency Armenian Dram (AMD)
Notable Places Tatev Monastery, Khor Virap, Garni Temple, Geghard Monastery
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Armenia](


Armenia map and flag
Armenia map and flag


What is the significance of the Tatev Monastery in Armenia?

Tatev Monastery is a historic and cultural site in Armenia known for its stunning location and medieval architecture. It’s also home to the “Wings of Tatev,” one of the world’s longest reversible aerial tramways.

Is the Garni Temple an ancient religious site?

Yes, the Garni Temple is a pagan temple from the 1st century. It is dedicated to Mihr, the sun god, and is one of Armenia’s most important historical sites.

Can tourists visit Lake Sevan in Armenia?

Yes, Lake Sevan, often called the “Jewel of Armenia,” is a popular tourist destination known for its beautiful scenery and recreational activities.

See More: