Provinces in Afghanistan

Afghanistan is divided into 34 provinces. Here is a list of all the provinces in Afghanistan:

Provinces in Afghanistan

  1. Badakhshan
  2. Badghis
  3. Baghlan
  4. Balkh
  5. Bamyan
  6. Daykundi
  7. Farah
  8. Faryab
  9. Ghazni
  10. Ghor
  11. Helmand
  12. Herat
  13. Jowzjan
  14. Kabul
  15. Kandahar
  16. Kapisa
  17. Khost
  18. Kunar
  19. Kunduz
  20. Laghman
  21. Logar
  22. Nangarhar
  23. Nimroz
  24. Nuristan
  25. Paktia
  26. Paktika
  27. Panjshir
  28. Parwan
  29. Samangan
  30. Sar-e Pol
  31. Takhar
  32. Urozgan
  33. Wardak
  34. Zabul

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Located in South-Central Asia, bordered by Pakistan to the east and south, Iran to the west, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Tajikistan to the north, and China to the northeast.
Capital Kabul
Official Language Pashto and Dari
Population Approximately 38 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 652,864 square kilometers (252,072 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes including mountains, deserts, and fertile plains.
Government Islamic Republic
Currency Afghani (AFN)
Notable Places Babur’s Gardens, The National Museum of Afghanistan, Bamiyan Buddhas (destroyed), Band-e Amir National Park
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Afghanistan](



Afghanistan map and flag
Afghanistan map and flag


What happened to the Bamiyan Buddhas?

The Bamiyan Buddhas, which were ancient monumental statues carved into the side of a cliff, were destroyed in 2001 by the Taliban.

What are Babur’s Gardens in Kabul?

Babur’s Gardens are historic gardens in Kabul, named after the first Mughal Emperor, Babur. These gardens hold cultural significance and offer a serene environment.

Is Afghanistan safe for tourists?

Due to the security situation, travel advisories caution against non-essential travel to Afghanistan. It’s important to stay updated on the situation if you’re considering a visit.

See More: