Departments in Congo (Brazzaville)

Congo, also known as the Republic of the Congo or Congo-Brazzaville, is divided into 12 departments. Here is a list of all the departments in Congo:

Departments in Congo

  1. Bouenza
  2. Pool
  3. Plateaux
  4. Cuvette
  5. Niari
  6. Lékoumou
  7. Bouenza
  8. Pool
  9. Plateaux
  10. Cuvette
  11. Niari
  12. Lékoumou
Congo (Brazzaville) symbols
Congo (Brazzaville) symbols


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Central Africa
Capital Brazzaville
Official Language French
Population Approximately 5.5 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 342,000 square kilometers (132,047 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscape with coastal areas, rainforests, and savannas
Independence From France on August 15, 1960
Government Republic
Currency Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Notable Places Odzala National Park, Basilique Sainte-Anne, Maya-Maya Airport
Official Website


What are the departments of the Republic of the Congo?

The Republic of the Congo is divided into 12 departments, namely Bouenza, Cuvette, Cuvette-Ouest, Kouilou, Lékoumou, Likouala, Niari, Plateaux, Pointe-Noire, Pool, Sangha, and Brazzaville (which is also a department).

What is Congo-Brazzaville known for?

Congo-Brazzaville, officially known as the Republic of the Congo, is known for its rich natural resources such as oil, timber, and minerals. It is also known for its vibrant music and dance culture, with genres like soukous gaining international recognition. The country is home to diverse wildlife, including gorillas, elephants, and hippos, making it a popular destination for eco-tourism.

Who are the famous people in Brazzaville?

Some famous people from Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo include:

  • Ali Bongo Ondimba – The President of Gabon and former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Gabon.
  • Lino – A Congolese rapper and member of the hip-hop group Bisso Na Bisso.
  • Dimi Ngatsongo Brege – A Congolese professional footballer who plays as a goalkeeper.
  • Gabriel-Boris Diakabana – The President of the SAPE (Société des Ambianceurs et des Personnes Élégantes) in Congo-Brazzaville.

What is Brazzaville called now?

Brazzaville is still called Brazzaville. It remains the capital and largest city of the Republic of the Congo.

Related: Countries in the World