Divisions in The Gambia

The Gambia has 5 administrative divisions. Here is a list of all the divisions in The Gambia:

List of All Divisions in The Gambia

  1. Banjul (City)
  2. Kanifing
  3. Lower River
  4. North Bank
  5. Upper River

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West Africa, bordered by Senegal with a small Atlantic Ocean coastline
Capital Banjul
Official Language English
Population Approximately 2.5 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 10,689 square kilometers (4,127 square miles)
Geography Flat landscape with the Gambia River running through the country
Independence From the United Kingdom on February 18, 1965
Government Republic with a presidential system
Currency Gambian dalasi (GMD)
Notable Places Kunta Kinteh Island, Abuko Nature Reserve, Bijilo Forest Park
Official Website https://www.statehouse.gm/

How many divisions are in Gambia?

The Gambia has five administrative regions and one city. These divisions are:

  • Banjul City
  • Lower River Region
  • Central River Region
  • North Bank Region
  • Upper River Region
  • Western Region

These divisions serve as administrative units within the country.

Where is LRR in The Gambia?

  • The Lower River Region (LRR) is located in the southern part of The Gambia, specifically on the south bank of the River Gambia. It is one of the five administrative divisions of the country.
  • The LRR covers an area of approximately 1,100 square kilometers and its capital is Mansakonko. The region is connected to the rest of Senegal through the Trans-Gambia Highway, which serves as the main trunk road linking Cassamance and Senegal.
  • The Lower River Region is known for its rural landscapes and is home to several local administrative areas, such as the Mansakonko Area Council.

What are the 5 regions of The Gambia?

The Gambia has five administrative regions. These regions are:

  • Banjul – This is the smallest and most densely populated region, encompassing the capital city of Banjul.
  • Kanifing – This region includes the urban area surrounding the capital city and is home to the largest municipality in The Gambia, Kanifing Municipal Council.
  • North Bank – Located on the north bank of the River Gambia, this region includes towns such as Barra and Kerewan.
  • Central River – Also known as Central River Region (CRR), this region is situated in the central part of the country and contains towns like Janjanbureh and Kuntaur.
  • Upper River – Positioned in the eastern part of The Gambia, this region is known for its rural landscapes and includes towns such as Basse Santa Su.

Why is it called The Gambia?

  • The Gambia gets its name from the Gambia River, which flows through the country. The river’s name is believed to have originated from the Portuguese word “Gâmbia.” The Portuguese explorers were the first Europeans to arrive in the area in the 15th century and named the river after the local term for it. Over time, the name “Gâmbia” evolved to “The Gambia,” and it eventually became the official name of the country when it gained independence from British colonial rule in 1965.


The Gambia flag
The Gambia flag


See more: