Regions in Senegal

Senegal is divided into 14 regions. Here is a list of all the regions in Senegal:

Regions in Senegal

  1. Dakar
  2. Diourbel
  3. Fatick
  4. Kaffrine
  5. Kaolack
  6. Kédougou
  7. Kolda
  8. Louga
  9. Matam
  10. Saint-Louis
  11. Sédhiou
  12. Tambacounda
  13. Thies
  14. Ziguinchor

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location West African country, bordered by Mauritania to the north and northeast, Mali to the east, Guinea and Guinea-Bissau to the south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west
Capital Dakar
Official Language French
Population Approximately 17 million as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 196,722 square kilometers (75,955 square miles)
Geography Diverse landscapes, including coastal areas, savannas, and the Sahara Desert in the north.
Independence From France on April 4, 1960
Government Republic with a semi-presidential system
Currency West African CFA franc (XOF)
Notable Places Gorée Island, Pink Lake (Retba), Niokolo-Koba National Park
Official Website [Official Government Portal of Senegal](


Senegal map and flag
Senegal map and flag


What is the significance of Gorée Island in Senegal?

Gorée Island is known for its historical role in the transatlantic slave trade and has UNESCO World Heritage status.

What is the “Pink Lake” in Senegal, and why is it pink?

The Pink Lake, or Retba, is a salt lake known for its distinctive pink color caused by high salt content and microorganisms.

Are there any unique cultural practices in Senegal?

Yes, Senegal has a rich cultural heritage, with traditional practices like the Sabar dance and various musical traditions.


See More: