Cities, Towns and Villages in Alexander County, Illinois

A complete list of all cities, towns and villages in Alexander County, Illinois

Alexander County, located in the southern region of Illinois, is a place of historical significance and scenic beauty. It is uniquely positioned at the convergence of the mighty Mississippi and Ohio Rivers, making it a historically significant crossroads.

The county is known for its picturesque landscapes, including riverbanks, wetlands, and natural reserves that offer a haven for outdoor enthusiasts and nature lovers.

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, and villages in Alexander County, Illinois:


  1. Cairo
  2. Clank
  3. Tamms
  4. Miller city
  5. Unity
  6. East Cape Girardeau
  7. Urbandale
  8. Golden Lily
  9. Willard
  10. Klondike


  1. Miller City
  2. Olive Branch
  3. Thebes
  4. Dawleys
  5. Diswood
  6. Elco
  7. Tankville
  8. Hodges Park
  9. Sandusky
  10. Cairo junction
  11. Roth


  1. East Cape Girardeau
  2. McClure
  3. Tatumville
  4. Cache
  5. Future city
  6. Fayville
  7. Gale
  8. Elmwood Place
  9. Alexander

Quick Facts

Here is a table of quick facts about Alexander County, Illinois:

Quick Facts about Alexander County, Illinois Details
County Seat Cairo
Established 1819
Area Approximately 236 square miles
Population 5,030
Major City Cairo (only city in the county)
Official Website


What is the poverty rate in Alexander County, Illinois?

  • In 2021, the median household income of Alexander County households was $39,871. However, 15.4% of Alexander County families live in poverty.

How many families live in Illinois?

Households, 2017-2021 4,930,255
Persons per household 2.54
Living in same house 1 year ago, percent of persons age 1 year+, 2017-2021 87.9%


What county is Cairo, Illinois, in?

  • Cairo, Illinois, is the county seat of Alexander County. Therefore, Cairo is located within Alexander County, which is in the southernmost part of the state of Illinois.


Alexander County, Illinois map
Alexander County, Illinois map