Cities, Towns and Villages in Macon County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns and villages in Macon County, Illinois

Macon County, Illinois, is situated in the heart of the state, offers a dynamic blend of urban and rural environments.

Home to the vibrant city of Decatur, the county is characterized by a rich industrial history, agricultural landscapes, and a diverse community spirit.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Macon County, Illinois:


  1. Decatur
  2. Macon
  3. Maroa


  1. Austin
  2. Blue Mound
  3. Decatur
  4. Friends Creek
  5. Harristown
  6. Hickory Point
  7. Illini
  8. Long Creek
  9. Maroa
  10. Milam
  11. Mount Zion
  12. Niantic
  13. Oakley
  14. Pleasant View
  15. South Macon
  16. South Wheatland
  17. Whitmore


  1. Argenta
  2. Blue Mound
  3. Forsyth
  4. Harristown
  5. Long Creek
  6. Mount Zion
  7. Niantic
  8. Oreana
  9. Warrensburg

Unincorporated communities

  1. Bearsdale
  2. Blackland
  3. Bulldog Crossing
  4. Casner
  5. Elwin
  6. Emery
  7. Heman
  8. Hervey City
  9. Newburg
  10. Oakley
  11. Prairie Hall
  12. Sangamon
  13. Walker

Census-designated place

  1. Boody

Ghost Town

  1. Whistleville

Quick Facts about Macon county, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Macon county, Illinois:

  • Official Website:
  • County Seat: Decatur
  • Founded: 1829
  • Area: Approximately 586 square miles
  • Population: Around 100,000
  • Geography: Located in central Illinois.
  • Economy: Historically tied to industry, agriculture, and commerce.
  • Notable City: Decatur is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Education: Home to local school districts and institutions like Millikin University.
  • Recreation: Offers parks, cultural events, and proximity to Lake Decatur.
  • Notable Landmarks: Scovill Zoo, Millikin Homestead, and the Decatur Transfer House contribute to the county’s character.

How much is a marriage license in Macon County Illinois?

  • There is a $10.00 Court Fee required when being married or joined thru Civil Union by a Judge. The fee is paid in the Circuit Clerk’s Office at 253 E. Wood, on the first floor. The fee should be paid on or before the date of the ceremony, with proof of payment shown before the ceremony.

What county is Decatur Illinois?

  • Decatur (/dɪˈkeɪtər/ dih-KAY-tər) is the largest city and the county seat of Macon County in the U.S. state of Illinois, with a population of 70,522 as of the 2020 Census. The city was founded in 1829 and is situated along the Sangamon River and Lake Decatur in Central Illinois.

Where do I pay my property taxes in Macon County IL?

  • The Macon County Treasurer’s Office
  • Payments can be made in several ways
  • In person – at the Macon County Treasurer’s Office, 141 S Main Street Room 302 during regular business hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. We accept cash, money order, cashier’s check and certified check.

How long does it take to get a marriage license Illinois?