Cities, Towns and Villages in DeKalb County, Illinois

Here is a complete list of cities, towns and villages in DeKalb County, Illinois

DeKalb County, Illinois, is a dynamic blend of vibrant communities and bucolic landscapes. Located in the northern part of the state, DeKalb County seamlessly intertwines urban amenities with rural charm.

The county, which is home to the city of DeKalb and nearby towns, has a thriving educational community with Northern Illinois University at its center as well as a rich agricultural heritage. It also has a variety of parks and natural areas.

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, and villages in DeKalb County, Illinois:


  1. DeKalb
  2. Sycamore
  3. Genoa
  4. Sandwich
  5. Cortland
  6. Hinckley


  1. DeKalb
  2. Sycamore
  3. Genoa
  4. Sandwich
  5. Cortland
  6. Hinckley
  7. Maple Park
  8. Waterman
  9. Shabbona
  10. Kirkland
  11. Leland
  12. Kingston
  13. Esmond
  14. Malta
  15. Hampshire


  1. Kirkland
  2. Malta
  3. Shabbona
  4. Waterman

Quick Facts

Here is a table of quick facts about DeKalb County, Illinois:

Category Information
Official Website
Founded 1837
Named After Johann de Kalb, American Revolutionary War hero
Major Lakes Lake Shabbona
Major Highways Interstate 88, Interstate 39, U.S. Route 30
Notable Attractions Northern Illinois University, Ellwood House Museum
Notable People Barbara Hale (Actress)
Notable Places and Attractions Starved Rock State Park
Outdoor Activities Hiking, biking, and nature trails, Fishing and boating at Lake Shabbona
Economy Diverse economy with strengths in agriculture, education, and healthcare
History DeKalb County was established in 1837 and named after Johann de Kalb. It has a rich history tied to agriculture and educational development, with Northern Illinois University playing a key role in the county’s cultural and economic growth.


When was Dekalb founded?

  • DeKalb County was founded in 1837.

DeKalb County is named after?

  • The County is named after Johann de Kalb, a German-born American Revolutionary War hero

Are there any major lakes in DeKalb County?

  • Yes, Lake Shabbona is a major lake in DeKalb County

Who is a notable person associated with DeKalb County?

  • Barbara Hale, an actress best known for her role as Della Street in “Perry Mason,” is associated with DeKalb County.

What outdoor activities are available in DeKalb County?

  • DeKalb County have outdoor activities such as hiking, biking, nature trails, fishing, and boating at Lake Shabbona
DeKalb County, Illinois map
DeKalb County, Illinois map