Cities, Towns and Villages in Jo Daviess County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities towns and villages in Jo Daviess County, Illinois

Jo Daviess County is in Illinois, where rolling hills, historic charm, and rural beauty come together to create a picturesque landscape.

Located in the northwest corner of the state.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Jo Daviess County, Illinois:


  1. East Dubuque
  2. Galena


Jo Daviess County is divided into twenty-three townships:

  1. Apple River
  2. Berreman
  3. Council Hill
  4. Derinda
  5. Dunleith
  6. East Galena
  7. Elizabeth
  8. Guilford
  9. Hanover
  10. Menominee
  11. Nora
  12. Pleasant Valley
  13. Rawlins
  14. Rice
  15. Rush
  16. Scales Mound
  17. Stockton
  18. Thompson
  19. Vinegar Hill
  20. Wards Grove
  21. Warren
  22. West Galena
  23. Woodbine

Villages in Jo Daviess County, Illinois

  1. Apple River
  2. Elizabeth
  3. Hanover
  4. Menominee
  5. Nora
  6. Scales Mound
  7. Stockton
  8. Warren

Unincorporated communities

  1. Aiken
  2. Blanding
  3. Bremen
  4. Council Hill
  5. Elmoville
  6. Guilford
  7. Massbach
  8. Morseville
  9. Pleasant Valley
  10. Rice
  11. Rodden
  12. Schapville
  13. Whitton
  14. Willow
  15. Woodbine

Census-designated places

  1. Apple Canyon Lake
  2. The Galena Territory

Quick Facts about Jo Daviess County, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Jo Daviess County, Illinois:

  • Official Website:
  • County Seat: Galena
  • Founded: 1827
  • Area: Approximately 619 square miles
  • Population: Around 21,000
  • Geography: Located in the northwest corner of Illinois, known for its scenic hills, valleys, and the Mississippi River.
  • Economy: Historically tied to mining, agriculture, and tourism.
  • Notable City: Galena is the largest city and the county seat.
  • Education: Home to local schools and educational institutions.
  • Recreation: Offers outdoor activities, parks, and is known for its historic sites and tourism.
  • Notable Landmarks: Galena, a charming historic town, is a major landmark in Jo Daviess County.

What is the sales tax in Jo Daviess County Illinois?

  • What is the sales tax rate in Jo Daviess County? The minimum combined 2023 sales tax rate for Jo Daviess County, Illinois is 7.25%. This is the total of state and county sales tax rates. The Illinois state sales tax rate is currently 6.25%.

What is the phone number for Jo Daviess County?

How to get married in Galena IL?

  • A couple who intend to be married or joined by civil union in Jo Daviess County must apply together, in person in the office of the Jo Daviess County Clerk, Jo Daviess County Courthouse, 330 N.Bench St., Galena, Illinois between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.