Cities, Towns and Villages in Williamson County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Williamson County, Illinois

Williamson County is a county in Southern Illinois. At the 2020 census, it had a population of 67,153. The largest city and county seat is Marion. Williamson County is included in the Carbondale-Marion, IL Metropolitan Statistical Area. This area of Southern Illinois is known locally as “Little Egypt”

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Williamson County, Illinois:


  • Carbondale
  • Carterville
  • Creal Springs
  • Herrin
  • Hurst
  • Johnston City
  • Marion


The following precincts are not voting precincts, but represent the 12 Congressional townships in Williamson County. Most have multiple voting precincts.

  • Blairsville
  • Carterville
  • Corinth
  • Crab Orchard
  • Creal Springs
  • East Marion
  • Grassy
  • Herrin
  • Lake Creek
  • Southern
  • Stonefort
  • West Marion


  • Bush
  • Cambria
  • Colp
  • Crainville
  • Energy
  • Freeman Spur
  • Pittsburg
  • Spillertown
  • Stonefort

Other unincorporated communities

  • Attila
  • Blairsville
  • Corinth
  • Crenshaw
  • Dewmaine
  • Dog Walk
  • Dykersburg
  • Fergestown
  • Hudgens
  • New Dennison
  • No. 9
  • Paineville
  • Palzo
  • Paulton
  • Pulleys Mill
  • Stiritz
  • Willeford

Census-designated places

  • Crab Orchard
  • Whiteash

Ghost towns

  • Chamness
  • Clifford
  • Dewmaine
  • Halfway
  • Halfway

Quick Facts about Williamson County, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Williamson County, Illinois:

  • Location: Williamson County is located in southern Illinois.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Williamson County is Marion.
  • Population: 66,879
  • Economy: Williamson County has a diverse economy with contributions from industries such as agriculture, manufacturing, healthcare, and energy.
  • Marion: Marion is the largest city in Williamson County and serves as a major economic and cultural center in the region.
  • Shawnee National Forest: A portion of Shawnee National Forest is located in Williamson County, providing opportunities for outdoor activities such as hiking and camping.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Educational Institutions: Williamson County is likely home to educational institutions contributing to the development and well-being of the community.
  • Government: Williamson County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

How to get a marriage license in Williamson County Illinois?

  • Apply For Marriage License in Williamson County, Illinois. You and your fiancé must appear at the Office of the County Clerk. The license must be obtained at least 1 day prior to being used. The license is void 60 days after the effective date. The license must be used in Williamson County.

Can you apply for a marriage license online in Illinois?

  • Couples will still need to come to the Courthouse to sign the application, pay the $75 fee and get their license, but the online marriage application will cut down on wait time considerably. Under Illinois law, only eligible persons can marry.

How much does it cost for a marriage license in Illinois?

  • Fill out and sign a marriage license application. Present valid identification with proof of age. The marriage license fee is $60.