Cities, Towns and Villages in Macoupin County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns and villages in Macoupin County, Illinois

Macoupin County, Illinois, is where rural charm meets a rich agricultural heritage.

Located in the southwestern part of the state, Macoupin County invites you to explore its friendly communities, vast farmlands, and historical sites.

With a blend of small-town warmth and natural beauty, the county provides a tranquil setting for residents and visitors alike.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Macoupin County, Illinois:


  1. Benld
  2. Bunker Hill
  3. Carlinville
  4. Gillespie
  5. Girard
  6. Mount Olive
  7. Staunton
  8. Virden


  1. Nilwood
  2. Shipman


  1. Brighton
  2. Chesterfield
  3. Dorchester
  4. Eagarville
  5. East Gillespie
  6. Hettick
  7. Lake Ka-ho
  8. Medora
  9. Modesto
  10. Mount Clare
  11. Palmyra
  12. Royal Lakes
  13. Sawyerville
  14. Scottville
  15. Standard City
  16. White City
  17. Wilsonville

Unincorporated communities

  1. Anderson
  2. Atwater
  3. Barr
  4. Hagaman
  5. McVey
  6. Piasa
  7. Plainview
  8. Reader
  9. Womac
  10. Woodburn


Macoupin County is divided into twenty-six townships:

  1. Barr
  2. Bird
  3. Brighton
  4. Brushy Mound
  5. Bunker Hill
  6. Cahokia
  7. Carlinville
  8. Chesterfield
  9. Dorchester
  10. Gillespie
  11. Girard
  12. Hillyard
  13. Honey Point
  14. Mount Olive
  15. Nilwood
  16. North Otter
  17. North Palmyra
  18. Polk
  19. Scottville
  20. Shaws Point
  21. Shipman
  22. South Otter
  23. South Palmyra
  24. Staunton
  25. Virden
  26. Western Mound

Quick Facts about Macoupin County, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Macoupin county, Illinois:

  • Official Website:
  • County Seat: Carlinville
  • Founded: 1829
  • Area: Approximately 866 square miles
  • Population: Around 45,000
  • Geography: Located in southwestern Illinois.
  • Economy: Historically tied to agriculture, with contributions from industry and commerce.
  • Notable City: Carlinville is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Education: Home to local school districts and Blackburn College.
  • Recreation: Offers parks, outdoor activities, and historical attractions.
  • Notable Landmarks: The Historic Million Dollar Courthouse, Carlinville Square, and Macoupin County Enquirer-Democrat Building contribute to the county’s character.

What is the history of Macoupin County Illinois?

  • Macoupin County was established on January 17, 1829. It was formed out of Greene and Madison Counties and was named after Macoupin Creek, which runs near Carlinville and meanders southwest to the Illinois River. The economy was based on subsistence agriculture, and communication was to the southwest.

How much is the recording fee in Macoupin County Illinois?

  • ALL PROPERTY TRANSACTIONS REQUIRE A LEGAL DESCRIPTION AND PARCEL ID NUMBER. Instruments filed in the Recorder’s office include a $26.50 recording fee, a $4.50 Microfilm Fee, a $27.00 GIS Fee, and a $9.00 surcharge for Rental Housing Support Program when applicable for a minimum of $67.00 per document.

Who pays recording fees in Illinois?

The BUYER usually pays for the following:
  • All new loan charges (except those the lender requires the seller to pay) E Recording fee. Recording charges for all documents in buyers’ names. Interest on new loan from date of funding to 30 days prior to first payment date.

How much is title insurance in Illinois?

  • Title policies usually cost about 0.5% to 1.0% of the home’s purchase price and are included in the Illinois home’s closing costs.
Macoupin County, Illinois map
Macoupin County, Illinois map

See more