Cities, Towns and Places in Fremont County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities, Census-designated places, Other unincorporated places, and townships in Fremont county, Iowa

Fremont County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 census, the population was 6,605, making it the state’s seventh-least populous county. The county seat is Sidney. The county was formed in 1847 and named for the military officer John C. Frémont.

Here is a list of all the cities and townships in Fremont County, Iowa:


  • Farragut
  • Hamburg
  • Imogene
  • Randolph
  • Riverton
  • Shenandoah (part)
  • Sidney
  • Tabor
  • Thurman


Fremont County is divided into thirteen townships:

  • Benton
  • Fisher
  • Green
  • Locust Grove
  • Madison
  • Monroe
  • Prairie
  • Riverside
  • Riverton
  • Scott
  • Sidney
  • Walnut
  • Washington

Census-designated places

  • Anderson
  • Bartlett
  • Percival

Other unincorporated places

  • McPaul

Quick Facts about Fremont county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Fremont county, Iowa:

  • Location: Fremont County is located in southwestern Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Fremont County is Sidney.
  • Population: 6,567
  • Economy: Fremont County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Sidney: Sidney is the largest city and the county seat of Fremont County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Waubonsie State Park: Waubonsie State Park, located in Fremont County, offers hiking trails and scenic views.
  • Parks and Recreation: Fremont County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Government: Fremont County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

What county is Fremont Iowa in?

  • Fremont is a city in Mahaska County, Iowa, United States. The population was 708 at the time of the 2020 census.

How many counties are in Iowa?

  • There are 99 counties in Iowa. All counties in Iowa are functioning governmental units; each governed by a county board of supervisors.

Where is the biggest city in Iowa?