Cities, Townships and Communities in Clayton County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities, townships, and communities in Clayton county, Iowa

Clayton County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 census, the population was 17,043. Its county seat is Elkader. The county was established in 1837 and was named in honor of John M. Clayton, United States Senator from Delaware and later Secretary of State under President Zachary Taylor.

Here is a list of all the cities, townships, and communities in Clayton County, Iowa:


  • Clayton
  • Edgewood
  • Elkader
  • Elkport
  • Farmersburg
  • Garber
  • Garnavillo
  • Guttenberg
  • Luana
  • Marquette
  • McGregor
  • Monona
  • North Buena Vista
  • Osterdock
  • Postville
  • St. Olaf
  • Strawberry Point
  • Volga


Clayton County is divided into these townships:

  • Boardman
  • Buena Vista
  • Cass
  • Clayton
  • Cox Creek
  • Elk
  • Farmersburg
  • Garnavillo
  • Giard
  • Grand Meadow
  • Highland
  • Jefferson
  • Lodomillo
  • Mallory
  • Marion
  • Mendon
  • Millville
  • Monona
  • Read
  • Sperry
  • Volga
  • Wagner

Unincorporated communities

  • Beulah
  • Ceres
  • Clayton Center
  • Communia
  • Eckards
  • Fairview
  • Froelich
  • Giard
  • Gunder
  • Hardin
  • Highland
  • Littleport
  • McGregor Heights
  • Mederville
  • Millville
  • Motor
  • Osborne
  • Saint Sebald
  • Thomasville
  • Turkey River
  • Updegraff
  • Watson
  • Wood

Quick Facts about Clayton county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Clayton county, Iowa:

  • Location: Clayton County is located in northeastern Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Clayton County is Elkader.
  • Population: 16,998
  • Economy: Clayton County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Elkader: Elkader is the largest city and the county seat of Clayton County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Turkey River: The Turkey River flows through Clayton County, providing scenic views and opportunities for outdoor recreation.
  • Parks and Recreation: Clayton County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Motor Mill Historic Site: The Motor Mill Historic Site, located in Clayton County, is an example of a historic gristmill and a popular tourist attraction.
  • Government: Clayton County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

Is Clayton County rural?

  • Clayton County is a suburban community just minutes south of downtown Atlanta. We have a relaxed and neighborly feel like a small town, but with all the amenities of a major metropolitan area.

What is Clayton County famous for?