Cities, Towns and Places in Franklin County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities, census-designated places, and townships in Franklin county, Iowa

Franklin County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 census, the population was 10,019. The county seat is Hampton. The county was formed on January 15, 1851, and named after Benjamin Franklin.

Here is a list of all the cities and townships in Franklin County, Iowa:


    • Ackley


  • Alexander
  • Coulter
  • Dows
  • Geneva
  • Hampton
  • Hansell
  • Latimer
  • Popejoy
  • Sheffield

Census-designated places

  • Bradford
  • Chapin


Franklin County is divided into sixteen townships:

  • Geneva
  • Grant
  • Hamilton
  • Ingham
  • Lee
  • Marion
  • Morgan
  • Mott
  • Oakland
  • Osceola
  • Reeve
  • Richland
  • Ross
  • Scott
  • West Fork
  • Wisner

Quick Facts about Franklin county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Franklin county, Iowa:

  • Location: Franklin County is located in north-central Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Franklin County is Hampton.
  • Population: 9,952
  • Economy: Franklin County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Hampton: Hampton is the largest city and the county seat of Franklin County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Beeds Lake State Park: Beeds Lake State Park, located in Franklin County, offers recreational opportunities, including fishing, boating, and hiking.
  • Parks and Recreation: Franklin County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Government: Franklin County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

What county is Hampton Iowa in?

  • Hampton is a town in Franklin County, Iowa, United States. The population was 4,337 at the time of the 2020 census. It is the county seat of Franklin County.

How many Franklin County are there in the US?

  • Franklin County (25 counties). Twenty three of the twenty five Franklin Counties in the United States are named for Benjamin Franklin, the famous Founding Father, printer, scientist, philosopher, and diplomat.

Is Franklin a US city?

  • Franklin is a city in and county seat of Williamson County, Tennessee, United States. About 21 miles (34 km) south of Nashville, it is one of the principal cities of the Nashville metropolitan area and Middle Tennessee.