Cities and Townships in Cherokee County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities and townships in Cherokee County, Iowa

Cherokee County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 census, the population was 11,658. The county seat is Cherokee. The county was formed on January 15, 1851, from open territory. It was named after the Cherokee people.

Here is a list of all the cities and townships in Cherokee County, Iowa:

Cities in Cherokee county, Iowa

  • Aurelia
  • Cherokee
  • Cleghorn
  • Larrabee
  • Marcus
  • Meriden
  • Quimby
  • Washta

Townships in Cherokee county, Iowa

Cherokee County is divided into sixteen townships:

  • Afton
  • Amherst
  • Cedar
  • Cherokee
  • Diamond
  • Grand Meadow
  • Liberty
  • Marcus
  • Pilot
  • Pitcher
  • Rock
  • Sheridan
  • Silver
  • Spring
  • Tilden
  • Willow

There are no villages in Cherokee county, Iowa

Quick Facts about Cherokee county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Cherokee county, Iowa:

  • Location: Cherokee County is located in northwestern Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Cherokee County is Cherokee.
  • Population: 11,503
  • Economy: Cherokee County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Cherokee: Cherokee is the largest city and the county seat of Cherokee County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Cherokee Historical and Cultural Center: The city of Cherokee is home to the Cherokee Historical and Cultural Center, which preserves and celebrates the history and culture of the region.
  • Parks and Recreation: Cherokee County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Government: Cherokee County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

What is Cherokee Iowa famous for?