Cities, Townships and Communities in Clinton County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities, townships, and communities in Clinton county, Iowa

Clinton County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 census, the population was 46,460. Its county seat is Clinton. Its name is in honor of the seventh Governor of New York State, DeWitt Clinton.

Here is a list of all the cities, townships, and communities in Clinton county, Iowa:


  • Andover
  • Calamus
  • Camanche
  • Charlotte
  • Clinton
  • DeWitt
  • Delmar
  • Goose Lake
  • Grand Mound
  • Lost Nation
  • Low Moor
  • Toronto
  • Welton
  • Wheatland


Clinton County is divided into these townships:

  • Bloomfield
  • Brookfield
  • Camanche
  • Center
  • De Witt
  • Deep Creek
  • Eden
  • Elk River
  • Grant
  • Hampshire
  • Liberty
  • Olive
  • Orange
  • Sharon
  • Spring Rock
  • Washington
  • Waterford
  • Welton

Unincorporated communities

  • Big Rock
  • Bryant
  • Buena Vista
  • Elvira
  • Elwood
  • Folletts
  • Petersville
  • Teeds Grove

Quick Facts about Clinton county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Clinton County, Iowa:

  • Location: Clinton County is located in eastern Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Clinton County is Clinton.
  • Population: 46,463
  • Economy: Clinton County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Clinton: Clinton is the largest city and the county seat of Clinton County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Lock and Dam No. 13: The county is home to Lock and Dam No. 13 on the Mississippi River, contributing to transportation and commerce in the region.
  • Parks and Recreation: Clinton County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Government: Clinton County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

What is the population of Clinton Iowa 2023?

  • Clinton is a city located in Clinton County Iowa. Clinton has a 2023 population of 24,452. It is also the county seat of Clinton County. Clinton is currently growing at a rate of 0.04% annually and its population has increased by 0.11% since the most recent census, which recorded a population of 24,425 in 2020.

Where did Indians live in Iowa?

  • In early historical times the tribes resident in Iowa were the Ioway (northern, central and eastern Iowa) and the Sioux (northwest Iowa). In the eighteenth century, the Sauk and Mesquakie were driven out of their ancestral homelands in eastern Wisconsin by the Ojibwa, with the assistance of the French.

Are there African Americans in Iowa?

  • The 2021 African American population in Iowa. African Americans constitute 4.3% of the state’s total population. In 1980, African Americans made up 1.4% of the state’s total population. The percent change in the African American population from 1980 to 2021.

Why do people migrate to Iowa?

  • Push factors like wars, persecution at home, poverty, and a lack of economic prospects forced them to seek a new homeland. Pull factors included the advantages they saw in relocating to Iowa. The rich farmland and economic opportunities were the major factors in early Iowa.
Clinton County, Iowa map
Clinton County, Iowa map


See More:

Cities and Townships in Clay County, Iowa

Full list of Cities, Townships and Communities in Clarke County, Iowa

Cities, Townships and Communities in Chickasaw County, Iowa

List of Cities and Townships in Cherokee County, Iowa

Cities, Townships and Communities in Cerro Gordo County, Iowa

Complete list of Cities, Townships and Communities in Cedar County, Iowa

Cities and Townships in Cass County, Iowa

Complete Cities and Townships in Carroll County, Iowa

Cities Towns and Villages in Benton County, Iowa