Cities, Townships and Communities in Dallas County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities, townships, and communities in Dallas county, Iowa

Dallas County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 Census, the population was 99,678, making it the seventh-most populous county in Iowa. Between 2010 and 2020, it was the fastest-growing county in Iowa and one of the fastest-growing in the country.

Here is a list of all the cities, townships, and communities in Dallas County, Iowa:

Cities in Dallas County, Iowa

  • Adel
  • Bouton
  • Clive
  • Dallas Center
  • Dawson
  • De Soto
  • Dexter
  • Granger
  • Grimes
  • Linden
  • Minburn
  • Perry
  • Redfield
  • Urbandale
  • Van Meter
  • Waukee
  • West Des Moines
  • Woodward

Townships in Dallas County, Iowa

  • Adams
  • Adel
  • Beaver
  • Boone
  • Colfax
  • Dallas
  • Des Moines
  • Grant
  • Lincoln
  • Linn
  • Spring Valley
  • Sugar Grove
  • Union
  • Van Meter
  • Walnut
  • Washington

Unincorporated communities

Dallas County, Iowa, has one Unincorporated community as at the time of compiling this list

  • Booneville

Quick Facts about Dallas county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Dallas county, Iowa:

  • Location: Dallas County is located in central Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Dallas County is Adel.
  • Population: 103,796
  • Economy: Dallas County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Adel: Adel is the largest city and the county seat of Dallas County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Raccoon River Valley Trail: The Raccoon River Valley Trail, a popular recreational trail, passes through Dallas County, offering opportunities for hiking, biking, and other outdoor activities.
  • Parks and Recreation: Dallas County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Government: Dallas County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

How many towns are in Iowa?

  • Iowa has 1,009 places; 947 incorporated places and 62 census designated places (CDPs). The incorporated places are all cities. There are 887 incorporated places that are dependent within county subdivisions.

Where is the biggest city in Iowa?

  • Des Moines (/dəˈmɔɪn/) is the capital and the most populous city in Iowa, United States. It is also the county seat of Polk County. A small part of the city extends into Warren County.

What is the nickname of Iowa?

  • The state of Iowa’s nickname is the Hawkeye State, and the University of Iowa borrowed its athletic nickname from the state many years ago. It is not clear how Iowans became Hawkeyes, but the nickname was first recorded in 1859.