Cities, Towns, and Villages in Moultrie County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Moultrie County, Illinois

Moultrie County is a county in the U.S. state of Illinois. According to the 2020 United States Census, its population was 14,526. Its county seat is Sullivan. The name is pronounced as in “mole tree”, unlike the pronunciation of its namesake, the South Carolinian Revolutionary War hero William Moultrie.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Moultrie County, Illinois:

City in Moultrie county, Illinois

  1. Sullivan


  1. Dora
  2. East Nelson
  3. Jonathan Creek
  4. Lovington
  5. Lowe
  6. Marrowbone
  7. Sullivan
  8. Whitley

Villages in Moultrie county, Illinois

  1. Allenville
  2. Arthur
  3. Bethany
  4. Dalton City
  5. Gays
  6. Lovington

Unincorporated Communities

  1. Bruce
  2. Dunn
  3. Fuller
  4. Kirksville
  5. Lake City

Quick Facts about Moultrie county, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about  Moultrie county, Illinois:

  • County Seat: Sullivan
  • Official website:
  • Founded: 1843
  • Area: Approximately 336 square miles
  • Population: Around 14,000
  • Geography: Located in central Illinois.
  • Economy: Historically tied to agriculture, with contributions from industry and commerce.
  • Notable City: Sullivan is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Education: Home to local school districts.
  • Recreation: Offers parks, outdoor activities, and cultural events.
  • Notable Landmarks: Lake Shelbyville, Fox Ridge State Park, and local historical sites contribute to the county’s character.

What county is Sullivan Illinois in?

  • Sullivan is a city in Moultrie County, Illinois, United States. The population was 4,413 at the time of the 2020 census.

What is Sullivan County known for?

  • Overview. Sullivan County has been a popular vacation spot since the 19th Century, with mountain climbing, boating, and other outdoor activities, and the Monticello Raceway being among the attractions. The majority of the tourism occurs in the summer months.

Where does Sullivan County start?

  • The county, which starts about 70 miles northwest of New York City, is in the Catskill Mountains. Its northeastern corner is within the Catskill Park.

Who founded Sullivan County?

  • Sullivan County, North Carolina was formally established in 1779 from part of Washington County, and was named after Continental Army officer John Sullivan. The area of present-day Kingsport had already been settled in the 1770s and was known as the King’s Boatyard, or “The Boatyard”.
map of Moultrie County, Illinois
map of Moultrie County, Illinois

Read more