Cities, Towns, and Villages in Morgan County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns and villages in Morgan County, Illinois

Morgan County is a county located in the U.S. state of Illinois. According to the 2020 census, it had a population of 32,915. Its county seat is Jacksonville.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Morgan County, Illinois:


  1. Jacksonville
  2. Waverly


  1. Chapin
  2. Concord
  3. Franklin
  4. Lynnville
  5. Meredosia
  6. Murrayville
  7. South Jacksonville
  8. Woodson

Unincorporated communities

  1. Alexander
  2. Arcadia
  3. Arnold
  4. Literberry
  5. Markham
  6. Pisgah

Quick Facts about Morgan county, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Morgan county, Illinois:

  • County Seat: Jacksonville
  • Founded: 1823
  • Official website:
  • Area: Approximately 569 square miles
  • Population: Around 33,000
  • Geography: Located in west-central Illinois.
  • Economy: Historically tied to agriculture, with contributions from industry and commerce.
  • Notable City: Jacksonville is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Education: Home to Illinois College and local school districts.
  • Recreation: Offers parks, cultural events, and outdoor activities. Lake Jacksonville is a popular recreational area.
  • Notable Landmarks: Governor Duncan Mansion, Historic Downtown Jacksonville, and local historical sites contribute to the county’s character.

What is the phone number for Morgan County Illinois?

  • The Morgan County Board is providing a call in number for public participation without physical presence at the board meeting. If you have difficulty using this number, call the County Commissioner number: 1-217-245-4619.

How many Morgan counties are in the US?

  • Morgan County is the name of eleven counties in the United States of America, nine of which were named for Daniel Morgan, Revolutionary War General: Morgan County, Alabama.

How to get a marriage license in Morgan County Illinois?

  • Both parties need to be present. *Both parties need to have one form of current ID. *Both parties need to be 18 years of age or older. If parties are younger, parents of that person need to be present with their current ID.

Is Fort Morgan a city or town?

  • The City of Fort Morgan is a home-rule municipality of approximately 11,000 residents located on the Eastern Plains of Colorado, about 80 miles northeast of Denver. It is the county seat of Morgan County and a commercial, industrial, and recreational hub for Northeast Colorado.
Morgan County, Illinois map
Morgan County, Illinois map