Cities, Towns, and Villages in Rock Island County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Rock Island County, Illinois

Rock Island County is a county located in the U.S. state of Illinois, bounded on the west by the Mississippi River. According to the 2020 census, it had a population of 144,672. Its county seat is Rock Island; its largest city is neighboring Moline.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Rock Island County, Illinois:

Cities in Rock Island County, Illinois

  • East Moline
  • Moline
  • Rock Island
  • Silvis


Rock Island County is divided into eighteen townships:

  • Andalusia
  • Blackhawk
  • Bowling
  • Buffalo Prairie
  • Canoe Creek
  • Coal Valley
  • Coe
  • Cordova
  • Drury
  • Edgington
  • Hampton
  • Moline
  • Port Byron
  • Rock Island
  • Rural
  • South Moline
  • South Rock Island
  • Zuma

Villages in Rock Island County, Illinois

  • Andalusia
  • Carbon Cliff
  • Coal Valley
  • Cordova
  • Hampton
  • Hillsdale
  • Milan
  • Oak Grove
  • Port Byron
  • Rapids City
  • Reynolds

Unincorporated communities

  • Barstow
  • Buffalo Prairie
  • Campbell’s Island
  • Edgington
  • Illinois City
  • Joslin
  • Taylor Ridge

Census-designated places

  • Coyne Center
  • Rock Island Arsenal


  • Fort Armstrong

Quick Facts about Rock Island County, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Rock Island county, Illinois:

  • Location: Rock Island County is located in the northwestern part of Illinois, along the Mississippi River.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Rock Island County is Rock Island.
  • Population: 142,909
  • Quad Cities: Rock Island County is part of the Quad Cities metropolitan area, along with Davenport and Bettendorf in Iowa, and Moline and East Moline in Illinois.
  • Mississippi River: The county is situated along the Mississippi River, providing scenic views and recreational opportunities.
  • Economy: Historically, the economy of Rock Island County has been influenced by manufacturing, agriculture, and its strategic location on the river.
  • Government: Rock Island County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Attractions: The area features various attractions, including cultural institutions, parks, and historical sites.
  • Military Presence: Rock Island Arsenal, an active U.S. Army facility, is located in the county. It has a history dating back to the 19th century and is known for its arsenal and manufacturing facilities.
  • Transportation: The county is well-connected with Interstate 74 and other major highways, facilitating transportation within the region.
  • Official website:

In what county is Moline Illinois?

  • Moline is a city located in Rock Island County, Illinois, United States.

Where do I pay my Rock Island county taxes?

  • At our office: Pay in-person at the Rock Island County Office Building, 1504 3rd Avenue, Rock Island, IL 61201. We accept cash, check, cashier’s check or money order.

Can you pay Rock County property taxes online?

  • Online payments: Visit Paying Property Taxes and review the Payment Options section to navigate to the GovTech Services Inc. website to pay with a debit card, credit card, or e-check. Or by Phone call 1-855-912-7625 & follow the voice prompts. There is a fee for using these services.