Cities, Towns, and Villages in Saline County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Saline County, Illinois

Saline County is a county in southern Illinois. At the 2020 census, it had a population of 23,768. The largest city and county seat is Harrisburg. This area of southern Illinois is known locally as “Little Egypt”.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Saline County, Illinois:


  • Eldorado
  • Harrisburg


Saline County is divided into thirteen townships:

  • Brushy
  • Carrier Mills
  • Cottage
  • East Eldorado
  • Galatia
  • Harrisburg
  • Independence
  • Long Branch
  • Mountain
  • Raleigh
  • Rector
  • Stone Fort
  • Tate


  • Carrier Mills
  • Galatia
  • Muddy
  • Raleigh
  • Stonefort

Unincorporated communities

  • Buena Vista
  • Cottage Grove
  • Delta
  • Derby
  • Eagle
  • Harco
  • Lakeview
  • Ledford
  • Liberty
  • Mitchellsville
  • New Hope
  • Pankeyville
  • Rudement
  • Somerset
  • Texas City
  • Wasson
  • West End

Quick Facts about Saline county, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Saline county, Illinois:

  • Location: Saline County is located in the southeastern part of Illinois.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Saline County is Harrisburg.
  • Population: 23,320
  • Economy: Historically, the economy of Saline County has been influenced by agriculture, coal mining, and manufacturing.
  • Shawnee National Forest: A portion of the Shawnee National Forest is located in Saline County, offering residents and visitors opportunities for outdoor activities and exploration.
  • Garden of the Gods: Part of the Shawnee National Forest, the Garden of the Gods is a popular natural attraction known for its unique rock formations and scenic views.
  • Recreational Opportunities: Saline County provides recreational opportunities, including hiking, fishing, and camping.
  • Heritage: The county has a rich cultural and historical heritage, with historical sites and landmarks.
  • Educational Institutions: Saline County likely has educational institutions contributing to the development and well-being of the community.
  • Government: Saline County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official website:

What county is Harrisburg Illinois in?

  • Harrisburg (/ˈhærɪsbɜːrɡ, ˈhɛərz-/) is a city in and the county seat of Saline County, Illinois, United States. It is located about 57 miles (92 kilometers) southwest of Evansville, Indiana.

Who is Judge Lambert in Saline County Illinois?

  • Lambert is an associate judge of the First Circuit Court in Illinois. He was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court on November 9, 2006, to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Michael Henshaw. Lambert was later reappointed in 2015 for a four-year term.

What is saline county Illinois famous for?

  • Garden of the Gods is one of the most photographed locations in the mid-west, featuring magnificent rock formations overlooking hills and valleys in the Garden of the Gods Wilderness area.
Saline County, Illinois map