Cities, Towns, and Villages in Sangamon County, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Sangamon County, Illinois

Sangamon County is a county located in the center of the U.S. state of Illinois. According to the 2020 census, it had a population of 196,343. Its county seat and largest city is Springfield, the state capital. Sangamon County is included in the Springfield, IL Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Sangamon County, Illinois:


  • Auburn
  • Leland Grove
  • Springfield
  • Virden


Sangamon County is divided into these townships:

  • Auburn
  • Ball
  • Buffalo Hart
  • Capital
  • Cartwright
  • Chatham
  • Clear Lake
  • Cooper
  • Cotton Hill
  • Curran
  • Divernon
  • Fancy Creek
  • Gardner
  • Illiopolis
  • Island Grove
  • Lanesville
  • Loami
  • Maxwell
  • Mechanicsburg
  • New Berlin
  • Pawnee
  • Rochester
  • Salisbury
  • Springfield
  • Talkington
  • Williams
  • Woodside


  • Berlin
  • Buffalo
  • Cantrall
  • Chatham
  • Clear Lake
  • Curran
  • Dawson
  • Divernon
  • Grandview
  • Illiopolis
  • Jerome
  • Loami
  • Mechanicsburg
  • New Berlin
  • Pawnee
  • Pleasant Plains
  • Riverton
  • Rochester
  • Sherman
  • Southern View
  • Spaulding
  • Thayer
  • Williamsville

Unincorporated communities

  • Andrew
  • Archer
  • Barclay
  • Barr
  • Bates
  • Berry
  • Bissell
  • Bradfordton
  • Breckenridge
  • Buckhart
  • Buffalo Hart
  • Cimic
  • Clayville
  • Farmingdale
  • Glenarm
  • Island Grove
  • Lowder
  • New City
  • Riddle Hill
  • Salisbury
  • Toronto
  • Zenobia

Quick Facts about Sangamon County, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Sangamon County, Illinois:

  • Location: Sangamon County is located in central Illinois.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Sangamon County is Springfield.
  • Population: 194,734
  • Capital City: Springfield, the county seat, is the capital of the state of Illinois.
  • Abraham Lincoln: Springfield is famous for its association with Abraham Lincoln. The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum are major attractions in the area.
  • State Government: As the capital city, Springfield hosts various state government offices and agencies.
  • Historical Sites: Sangamon County has several historical sites and landmarks, including the Old State Capitol, where Abraham Lincoln served as a legislator.
  • Economy: The economy of Sangamon County is diverse, with contributions from government, healthcare, education, and agriculture.
  • Education: Springfield is home to several educational institutions, including the University of Illinois Springfield.
  • Parks and Recreation: The county offers parks, recreational areas, and cultural events for residents and visitors.
  • Government: Sangamon County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

How many townships are in Sangamon County Illinois?

  • According to the Sangamon County clerk website, there are 26 townships in the county each being represented by an assessor, clerk, supervisor, highway commissioner and several trustees.

How many cities towns are in Illinois?

  • Illinois has 1,299 incorporated municipalities, about 500 of which are cities. Only one city has more than 200,000 people, and only 8 cities have more than 100,000 people.

What is the smallest town in Illinois by area?

  • Valley City is located at 39°42′22″N 90°39′13″W (39.705990, −90.653656). According to the 2010 census, Valley City has a total area of 0.212 square miles (0.55 km2), of which 0.2 square miles (0.52 km2) (or 94.34%) is land and 0.012 square miles (0.03 km2) (or 5.66%) is water.

Who is the richest person in Illinois?