Cities, Townships and Communities in Butler County, Iowa

Here is a list of all the cities, and towns in Butler county, Iowa

Butler County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa. As of the 2020 census, the population was 14,334. Its county seat is Allison. The county was organized in 1854 and named for General William O. Butler.

Here is a list of all the cities, and towns in Butler county, Iowa:


  • Allison
  • Aplington
  • Aredale
  • Bristow
  • Clarksville
  • Dumont
  • Greene
  • New Hartford
  • Parkersburg
  • Shell Rock


Butler County is divided into sixteen townships:

  • Albion
  • Beaver
  • Bennezette
  • Butler
  • Coldwater
  • Dayton
  • Fremont
  • Jackson
  • Jefferson
  • Madison
  • Monroe
  • Pittsford
  • Ripley
  • Shell Rock
  • Washington
  • West Point

Unincorporated communities

  • Austinville
  • Kesley
  • Packard

There are no villages in Butler county, Iowa

Quick Facts about Butler county, Iowa

Here are some quick facts about Butler county, Iowa

  • Location: Butler County is located in north-central Iowa.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Butler County is Allison.
  • Population: 14,332
  • Economy: Butler County’s economy traditionally has a foundation in agriculture, manufacturing, and commerce.
  • Allison: Allison is the largest city and the county seat of Butler County, serving as a center for commerce and community activities.
  • Shell Rock River: The Shell Rock River flows through Butler County, providing scenic views and opportunities for outdoor recreation.
  • Parks and Recreation: Butler County likely offers parks, recreational areas, and outdoor activities for residents and visitors.
  • Historical Sites: The county may have historical sites and landmarks that reflect its cultural heritage.
  • Government: Butler County operates under a county board form of government.
  • Official Website:

What is the history of Butler County Iowa?

  • Butler County was formed on January 15, 1851, from open land. It was named after Kentucky native William Orlando Butler, a general and hero of the Mexican–American War, who ran as Vice President of the United States in 1848. Until 1854, the county was governed by other counties.

How many cities are in Butler County?

  • There are seven Butler County cities: Fairfield, Hamilton, Middletown, Monroe, Oxford, Trenton, and Sharonville (mostly in Hamilton County)

Which states have a Butler County?

  • Butler County is the name of eight counties in the United States:
  • Butler County, Alabama.
  • Butler County, Iowa.
  • Butler County, Kansas.
  • Butler County, Kentucky.
  • Butler County, Missouri.
  • Butler County, Nebraska.
  • Butler County, Ohio.
  • Butler County, Pennsylvania.

Who is Butler County named after?