Counties in Hawaii

Hawaii is unique among U.S. states in that it does not have counties in the traditional sense. Hawaii is divided into five counties. These five counties are essentially the main islands and their surrounding islets. These counties are:

List of All Counties in Hawaii

  1. City and County of Honolulu (covers Oahu and various smaller islets)
    Cities, Towns, and Villages in Honolulu County, Hawaii
  2. Hawaii County (covers the Big Island)
    Cities, Towns, and Villages in Hawaii County, Hawaii
  3. Kauai County (covers Kauai and Niihau)
    Cities, Towns and Villages in Kauai County, Hawaii
  4. Kalawao County (covers a portion of Molokai)
    Cities, Towns, and Villages in Kalawao County, Hawaii
  5. Maui County (covers Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe)
Hawaii map and seal
Hawaii map and seal


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography An archipelago located in the central Pacific Ocean
History Became the 50th U.S. state on August 21, 1959
Economy Heavily dependent on tourism, with some agriculture and military bases
Climate Tropical, with variations depending on elevation and location
Natural Attractions Volcanoes, beaches, and coral reefs
Culture Blend of native Hawaiian culture and influences from Asia and mainland U.S.
Miscellaneous State bird is the Hawaiian Goose (Nene), State flower is the Hawaiian hibiscus
Population Approximately 1.4 million people as of 2020 Census
Notable People Barack Obama, Duke Kahanamoku, Israel Kamakawiwo’ole
Notable Places Honolulu, Waikiki Beach, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Official Website


RelatedFull List of All 50 States in the United States of America

What are the 5 counties of Hawaii?

  1. Hawaii County (also known as the Big Island) with the county seat in Hilo.
  2. Honolulu County with the county seat in Honolulu.
  3. Kalawao County, a small county located on the island of Molokai.
  4. Kauai County with the county seat in Lihue.
  5. Maui County with the county seat in Wailuku. It includes the islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, and Kahoolawe

How many total counties are in Hawaii?

  • There are a total of five counties in Hawaii.

What are the 7 states of Hawaii?

  • Hawaii is actually a state itself and consists of multiple islands. There are 8 main islands in Hawaii, which are:

    1. Hawaii (also known as the Big Island)
    2. Oahu
    3. Maui
    4. Kauai
    5. Molokai
    6. Lanai
    7. Niihau
    8. Kahoolawe

    These islands collectively make up the state of Hawaii.

What are the 9 islands in Hawaii?

There are eight main islands in Hawaii, as mentioned above.