Counties in Georgia

Georgia is composed of 159 counties, making it the U.S. state with the second-most number of counties after Texas. Here is the complete list:

List of All Counties in Georgia

  1. Appling County
  2. Atkinson County
  3. Bacon County
  4. Baker County
  5. Baldwin County
  6. Banks County
  7. Barrow County
  8. Bartow County
  9. Ben Hill County
  10. Berrien County
  11. Bibb County
  12. Bleckley County
  13. Brantley County
  14. Brooks County
  15. Bryan County
  16. Bulloch County
  17. Burke County
  18. Butts County
  19. Calhoun County
  20. Camden County
  21. Candler County
  22. Carroll County
  23. Catoosa County
  24. Charlton County
  25. Chatham County
  26. Chattahoochee County
  27. Chattooga County
  28. Cherokee County
  29. Clarke County
  30. Clay County
  31. Clayton County
  32. Clinch County
  33. Cobb County
  34. Coffee County
  35. Colquitt County
  36. Columbia County
  37. Cook County
  38. Coweta County
  39. Crawford County
  40. Crisp County
  41. Dade County
  42. Dawson County
  43. Decatur County
  44. DeKalb County
  45. Dodge County
  46. Dooly County
  47. Dougherty County
  48. Douglas County
  49. Early County
  50. Echols County
  51. Effingham County
  52. Elbert County
  53. Emanuel County
  54. Evans County
  55. Fannin County
  56. Fayette County
  57. Floyd County
  58. Forsyth County
  59. Franklin County
  60. Fulton County
  61. Gilmer County
  62. Glascock County
  63. Glynn County
  64. Gordon County
  65. Grady County
  66. Greene County
  67. Gwinnett County
  68. Habersham County
  69. Hall County
  70. Hancock County
  71. Haralson County
  72. Harris County
  73. Hart County
  74. Heard County
  75. Henry County
  76. Houston County
  77. Irwin County
  78. Jackson County
  79. Jasper County
  80. Jeff Davis County
  81. Jefferson County
  82. Jenkins County
  83. Johnson County
  84. Jones County
  85. Lamar County
  86. Lanier County
  87. Laurens County
  88. Lee County
  89. Liberty County
  90. Lincoln County
  91. Long County
  92. Lowndes County
  93. Lumpkin County
  94. Macon County
  95. Madison County
  96. Marion County
  97. McDuffie County
  98. McIntosh County
  99. Meriwether County
  100. Miller County
  101. Mitchell County
  102. Monroe County
  103. Montgomery County
  104. Morgan County
  105. Murray County
  106. Muscogee County
  107. Newton County
  108. Oconee County
  109. Oglethorpe County
  110. Paulding County
  111. Peach County
  112. Pickens County
  113. Pierce County
  114. Pike County
  115. Polk County
  116. Pulaski County
  117. Putnam County
  118. Quitman County
  119. Rabun County
  120. Randolph County
  121. Richmond County
  122. Rockdale County
  123. Schley County
  124. Screven County
  125. Seminole County
  126. Spalding County
  127. Stephens County
  128. Stewart County
  129. Sumter County
  130. Talbot County
  131. Taliaferro County
  132. Tattnall County
  133. Taylor County
  134. Telfair County
  135. Terrell County
  136. Thomas County
  137. Tift County
  138. Toombs County
  139. Towns County
  140. Treutlen County
  141. Troup County
  142. Turner County
  143. Twiggs County
  144. Union County
  145. Upson County
  146. Walker County
  147. Walton County
  148. Ware County
  149. Warren County
  150. Washington County
  151. Wayne County
  152. Webster County
  153. Wheeler County
  154. White County
  155. Whitfield County
  156. Wilcox County
  157. Wilkes County
  158. Wilkinson County
  159. Worth County

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the southeastern region of the U.S., featuring diverse landscapes from mountains to coastlines
History Fourth state to join the Union in 1788, known as the “Peach State”
Economy Key industries include agriculture, aerospace, and logistics
Climate Humid subtropical climate with hot summers and mild winters
Natural Attractions Appalachian Mountains, Savannah River, Okefenokee Swamp
Culture Known for its Southern hospitality, peaches, and music history
Miscellaneous State bird is the Brown Thrasher, State flower is the Cherokee Rose
Population Approximately 10.8 million people as of 2020 Census
Notable People Martin Luther King Jr., Jimmy Carter, Ray Charles
Notable Places Atlanta, Savannah Historic District, Stone Mountain Park
Bordering States Borders Florida to the south, Alabama to the west, Tennessee and North Carolina to the north, and South Carolina to the east
Official Website


Georgia map and seal
Georgia map and seal


How many counties is there in Georgia?

  • There are 159 counties in the state of Georgia. This makes it the second-highest number of counties in the United States, following Texas, which has 254 counties

What are the 5 largest counties in Georgia?

The five largest counties in Georgia are as follows:

  1. Fulton County: With a population of over 1 million, Fulton County is the largest county in Georgia by population.
  2. Gwinnett County: Gwinnett County has a population of approximately 975,353, making it the second-largest county in Georgia.
  3. Cobb County: Cobb County is the third-largest county in Georgia with a population of around 771,952.
  4. DeKalb County: With a population of about 762,820, DeKalb County ranks as the fourth-largest county in Georgia.
  5. Chatham County: Chatham County is the fifth-largest county in Georgia, with a population of around 301,107.

These rankings are based on population data and may change over time.

Are there 159 counties in Georgia?

  • Yes, there are 159 counties in the state of Georgia. This makes Georgia the state with the second-highest number of counties in the United States, after Texas, which has 254 counties

Why Georgia has so many counties?

Georgia has a high number of counties due to historical and political reasons. According to the University of Georgia’s Carl Vinson Institute of Government, the large number of counties in Georgia can be attributed to the state’s history of agrarian society and the desire for accessible local government. In the early days of settlement, it was important for residents to have access to a county seat, where they could conduct business and engage in civic activities without having to travel long distances. As a result, counties were established to provide convenient administrative centers for residents.

Additionally, the creation of new counties was often driven by political considerations. The establishment of new counties allowed for the expansion of political power at the local level and provided opportunities for citizens to hold elected office. Over time, the number of counties increased, leading to the current total of 159 counties in Georgia.

It’s worth noting that Georgia is the second-highest state in terms of the number of counties, with Texas being the only state with more counties.

Read more:

Full List of All 50 States in US