Cities in Rawlins County, Kansas

List of All Cities, Towns, and Villages in Rawlins County, Kansas

Rawlins County is located in the northwest part of the U.S. state of Kansas. The county seat is Atwood.


  • Atwood
  • Herndon


There are no Towns in Rawlins County, Kansas

Villages in Rawlins County, Kansas

There are no Villages in Rawlins County, Kansas

Quick Facts about Rawlins County, Kansas

  • County Seat: Atwood
  • Founded: 1881
  • Named After: John Aaron Rawlins, Union Army General
  • Area: 1,126 square miles
  • Population: Approximately 2,500
  • Major Lakes: None significant
  • Main Highways: U.S. Route 36
  • Notable Attractions: Rawlins County Museum, Sunflower Trail
  • Economy: Agriculture (mainly wheat and cattle)
  • History: Established during the westward expansion, influenced by railroad development.
  • Outdoor Activities: Hunting, fishing, hiking
  • Notable People: No widely known figures
  • Official Website:

What is the history of Rawlins County?

Rawlins County was established in 1881 and played a role in the westward expansion, particularly with the development of railroads.

What is the population of Rawlins County?

The population of Rawlins County is approximately 2,500 people.

What are the main economic activities in Rawlins County?

The county’s economy is primarily driven by agriculture, with a focus on wheat cultivation and cattle ranching.

Are there any notable attractions in Rawlins County?

Rawlins County is home to the Rawlins County Museum, preserving the area’s history, and the Sunflower Trail for outdoor enthusiasts.

What County is Atwood Kansas in?