Cities, Towns and Villages in Knox county, Illinois

Here is a list of all the cities, towns and villages in Knox County, Illinois.

Knox County, Illinois, is where a rich historical tapestry meets a blend of small-town charm and rural beauty. Nestled in the western part of the state

Here is a list of all the cities, towns, and villages in Knox County, Illinois:


  1. Abingdon
  2. Galesburg
  3. Knoxville
  4. Oneida


Knox County is divided into twenty-one townships:

  1. Cedar
  2. Chestnut
  3. Copley
  4. Elba
  5. Galesburg
  6. Galesburg City
  7. Haw Creek
  8. Henderson
  9. Indian Point
  10. Knox
  11. Lynn
  12. Maquon
  13. Ontario
  14. Orange
  15. Persifer
  16. Rio
  17. Salem
  18. Sparta
  19. Truro
  20. Victoria
  21. Walnut Grove


  1. Altona
  2. East Galesburg
  3. Henderson
  4. London Mills
  5. Maquon
  6. Rio
  7. St. Augustine
  8. Victoria
  9. Wataga
  10. Williamsfield
  11. Yates City

Other unincorporated communities

  1. Appleton
  2. Centerville
  3. Columbia Heights
  4. Dahinda
  5. Delong
  6. Douglas
  7. Elba Center
  8. Henderson Grove
  9. Hermon
  10. Ontario
  11. Rapatee
  12. Saluda
  13. Soperville
  14. Trenton Corners
  15. Truro
  16. Uniontown

Census-designated places

  1. Gilson
  2. Oak Run

Quick Facts about Knox county, Illinois

Here are some quick facts about Knox county, Illinois:

  • County Seat: Galesburg
  • Founded: 1825
  • Area: Approximately 720 square miles
  • Population: Around 50,000
  • Geography: Located in the western part of Illinois.
  • Economy: Historically tied to agriculture and manufacturing.
  • Notable City: Galesburg is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Education: Home to Knox College and local school districts.
  • Recreation: Offers parks, cultural events, and access to outdoor activities.
  • Notable Landmarks: Galesburg’s historic districts and the birthplace of poet Carl Sandburg contribute to the county’s character.
  • Official website:

How many states have Knox County?

  • There are nine counties named Knox County in the United States, all named after Brigadier General Henry Knox who would later serve as the first Secretary of War: Knox County, Illinois. Knox County, Indiana. Knox County, Kentucky.

Which county is Knoxville Illinois?

  • Knox County, Illinois – Knox County, Illinois. Established in 1825.

What county is standard Illinois in?