Cities, Towns and Villages in Fayette County, Indiana

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, plantations, and villages in Fayette County, Indiana


  • Connersville


  • Bentonville
  • Everton

Unincorporated Communities/Villages

  • Alquina
  • Harrisburg
  • Orange
  • Glenwood
  • Columbia
  • Nulltown
  • Alpine
  • East Connersville
  • Fairview
  • Lotus
  • Springersville

Quick Facts

  • Location: Fayette County is situated in east-central Indiana, part of the Midwestern United States.
  • County Seat: Connersville serves as the county seat of Fayette County.
  • Population: As of the last available data, Fayette County had a population of around 23,000 people.
  • Area: The county spans an area of approximately 215 square miles.
  • Geography: Fayette County features diverse landscapes, including rolling hills, farmland, and wooded areas. The Whitewater River flows through parts of the county.
  • Notable Places: Some notable places in Fayette County include:
    • Whitewater Valley Railroad
    • Connersville’s historic downtown district
    • The historic canal house and canal trail
    • Roberts Park
  • Economy: Historically, Fayette County’s economy relied on manufacturing, particularly in the automotive industry. Agriculture also plays a significant role in the local economy, with farming and related industries contributing to the region’s livelihood.
  • Education: The county is served by its public school system, including elementary, middle, and high schools. Additionally, there might be private educational institutions and higher education opportunities in the surrounding areas.
  • History: Fayette County was formed in 1819 and named after Marquis de Lafayette, a French military officer who supported the American cause during the Revolutionary War. It has a rich history tied to the development of transportation, industry, and agriculture in Indiana.
  • Official Website:

What is Fayette County Indiana famous for?

  • Automotive Heritage: Connersville, the county seat, was historically known for its automotive manufacturing, particularly Stant Manufacturing and the former Visteon plant. This heritage in the automotive industry played a vital role in the county’s economic development.
  • Whitewater Valley Railroad: The county is home to the Whitewater Valley Railroad, a heritage railway offering scenic rides and preserving historic locomotives and rail cars. It’s a notable attraction drawing visitors and enthusiasts.
  • Historic Downtown: Connersville boasts a charming and historically rich downtown area with well-preserved architecture and buildings that reflect the county’s past.
  • Canal History: Fayette County has ties to Indiana’s canal system. The Whitewater Canal once flowed through the area, and remnants of the canal, including the historic canal house, contribute to the county’s historical significance.
  • Agriculture: Like many regions in Indiana, Fayette County has a strong agricultural heritage, with farming playing a significant role in its economy and culture.

How big is Fayette County Indiana?

Fayette County in Indiana covers an area of approximately 215 square miles.

What is the largest town in Fayette County Indiana?

Connersville is the largest town in Fayette County, Indiana.

Fayette County, Indiana map
Fayette County, Indiana map

Read More: