Cities, Towns and Villages in Dearborn County, Indiana

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, villages, and Communities in Dearborn County, Indiana


  • Lawrenceburg
  • Greendale


  • Aurora
  • Dillsboro
  • Moores Hill
  • Bright
  • West Harrison
  • Saint Leon


  • Hidden Valley
  • Manchester
  • Logan
  • New Alsace
  • Guilford
  • Elizabethtown
  • Wilmington
  • Sparta
  • Kyle
  • Weisburg

Quick Facts

  • Location: Dearborn County is located in the southeastern corner of the state of Indiana, bordering Ohio and Kentucky. It is part of the Cincinnati-Middletown, OH-KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.
  • County Seat: Lawrenceburg serves as the county seat of Dearborn County.
  • Population: As of the last available data, the population of Dearborn County was estimated to be around 50,000 people.
  • Area: The county spans an area of approximately 307 square miles (around 795 square kilometers).
  • Geography: Dearborn County features a mix of rural landscapes, rolling hills, and riverfront areas. The Ohio River borders the county to the south, offering scenic views and recreational opportunities.
  • Notable Places: Dearborn County is known for its historic sites, including the Hillforest Mansion in Aurora, which is a National Historic Landmark. Lawrenceburg hosts the Hollywood Casino and features a rich riverboat history. The Perfect North Slopes offer skiing and snowboarding activities in winter.
  • Economy: The county’s economy historically relied on agriculture and river trade due to its proximity to the Ohio River. Over time, manufacturing, healthcare, and tourism have become significant contributors to the local economy.
  • Education: Dearborn County is served by multiple school districts, including South Dearborn Community Schools and Sunman-Dearborn Community Schools. Higher education options are available nearby, including Ivy Tech Community College.
  • History: Dearborn County was formed in 1803 and was named after Revolutionary War hero General Henry Dearborn. Its early history involves significant river trade and industrial development, with the Ohio River playing a pivotal role in transportation and commerce.
  • Official Website:

What is Dearborn County, Indiana famous for?

  • Historic Importance: It’s renowned for its rich historical background, particularly in its role in early American settlement, river trade along the Ohio River, and contributions to the region’s industrial growth.
  • River Trade and Transportation: The Ohio River’s presence greatly influenced the county’s development, fostering a thriving river trade and providing a vital transportation route for goods and people.
  • Hillforest Mansion: The Hillforest Mansion in Aurora, a National Historic Landmark, stands as a testament to the county’s historical wealth and significance. It’s a beautifully preserved example of 19th-century architecture.
  • Entertainment and Tourism: Lawrenceburg boasts the Hollywood Casino and historically significant riverboat heritage, drawing tourists interested in gambling and riverfront entertainment.
  • Outdoor Activities: The county’s landscape, including rolling hills and riverfront areas, offers opportunities for outdoor activities like skiing at Perfect North Slopes during winter and various water-based activities along the Ohio River.
  • Cultural Heritage: Dearborn County celebrates its cultural heritage through various festivals, events, and museums, preserving and showcasing its historical and industrial past.

How big is Dearborn County, Indiana?

Dearborn County in Indiana spans approximately 307 square miles, which is around 795 square kilometers in size.

What is the largest town in Dearborn County, Indiana?

The largest town in Dearborn County, Indiana, is Lawrenceburg.

Dearborn County, Indiana map
Dearborn County, Indiana map

Read More: