Cities, Towns and Villages in Chattooga County, Georgia

Complete List of Cities, Towns and Villages in Chattooga County, Georgia

Established in 1838, the county’s name is derived from the Chattooga River that winds through its scenic landscapes.

A Complete List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Chattooga County, Georgia:


  • Summerville
  • Menlo
  • Lyerly
  • Trion


  • Alpine
  • Farmersville
  • East Trion
  • Chelsea
  • Cloudland


  • Tidings
  • Sprite
  • Silver Hill
  • Welcome Hill
  • Pennville


Quick Facts about Chattooga County, Georgia:

  • County Seat: Summerville
  • Founded: Chattooga County was created on December 28, 1838.
  • Named After: Chattooga River, which runs along the western border of the county.
  • Area: Chattooga County has a total area of approximately 314 square miles.
  • Population: The population of Chattooga County is around 24,650.
  • Geography: Located in northwest Georgia, Summerville is the largest city and the county seat.
  • Economy: Historically, the county’s economy has been tied to agriculture, including textile and poultry farming. There has been diversification in recent years with manufacturing and services.
  • Education: Chattooga County is served by the Chattooga County School District.
  • Official Website:


What emergency services are available to residents in Chattooga County?

  • Emergency services, including fire and medical response, can be accessed through the county’s emergency management agency or fire department.

What is the county seat of Chattooga County?

  • The county seat of Chattooga County is Summerville.

What is Chattooga County known for?

  • Chattooga County is widely thought to be birthplace of George Gist, otherwise known as Sequoyah, the creator of the Cherokee alphabet. Rome is home to the respected Chieftain’s Museum, while Cartersville is home to the Etowah Indian Mounds.

What county is Chattooga High School in?

  • Chattooga High School is the only high school in the Chattooga County.