Cities, Towns and Villages in Brantley County, Georgia

Full List of Cities, Towns and Villages in Brantley County, Georgia


  1. Nahunta
  2. Hoboken
  3. Hortense
  4. Waynesville


  1. Browntown
  2. Fendig
  3. Big Oak
  4. Burton Terrace


  1. Salter
  2. Raybon
  3. Trudie
  4. Lulaton
  5. Needmore
  6. Happy Landing

Quick Facts

  • County Seat: Nahunta
  • Founded: Brantley County was created on February 15, 1920, from portions of Charlton, Pierce, and Wayne Counties.
  • Named After: William Gordon Brantley, a lawyer and legislator from Georgia.
  • Area: Brantley County has a total area of approximately 447 square miles.
  • Population: The population of Brantley County was around 18,101 (as at 2021).
  • Geography: Located in southeast Georgia, Brantley County is part of the Brunswick, Georgia metropolitan area.
  • Economy: The economy is diverse, with a mix of agriculture, manufacturing, and services.
  • Recreation: Outdoor activities include kayaking, fishing and Okefenokee Agricultural Fair
  • Education: Brantley County is served by the Brantley County School District.
  • Official Website:


What is the county seat of Brantley County?

  • Nahunta, the county seat, is not an Indian name, as one might guess. It was a timber stop on the railroad labeled N. A. Hunter Siding. The railroad men dubbed it “Nahunta.”

Who founded Brantley County?

  • Brantley County was created by the Georgia Legislature, south of the Satilla river from Pierce County, west of the Old Post Road from Wayne County, and north of Charlton County in the now Hickox, Bachlott area. Originally it was called the Back Woods of South Georgia.

How did Nahunta get its name?

  • NAHUNTA, CS Brantley County. Incorporated as a city July 28, 1925. This was originally a freight station called VICTORIA. The Iroquoian (Tuscarora) Indian word nahunta is thought to mean “tall trees.”

When was Brantley County GA Created?

  • In 1920 Brantley County, in southeast Georgia, became Georgia’s 158th county. Prior to 1920, residents of the area that made up parts of Charlton, Pierce, and Wayne counties felt estranged from their county governments.

How big is Brantley County GA?

  • According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 447 square miles (1,160 km2), of which 442 square miles (1,140 km2) is land and 4.8 square miles (12 km2) (1.1%) is water.