Islands in Comoros

The Comoros is divided into three islands, each with its own governor. Here is a list of the islands and their respective governors:


  1. Grande Comore (Ngazidja)
  2. Anjouan (Nzwani)
  3. Mohéli (Mwali)


  • Abdou Soule Elbak: Grande Comore
  • Abdou Salami Abdou: Anjouan
  • Salim Hafi: Mohéli
Comoros flag
Comoros flag


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Location Indian Ocean, off the east coast of Africa
Capital Moroni (on Grande Comore)
Official Languages Comorian, Arabic, and French
Population Approximately 873,000 as of 2021 estimate
Area Approximately 2,235 square kilometers (863 square miles)
Geography Volcanic islands with a tropical climate
Independence From France on July 6, 1975
Government Federal republic
Currency Comorian franc (KMF)
Notable Places Mohéli Marine Park, Mount Karthala, Grande Comore’s old town (Medina)
Official Website


Is Comoros good for tourists?

  • Comoros is an off-the-beaten-path destination that offers beautiful beaches, rainforests, and unique experiences, making it a good choice for adventurous tourists.
    Is Comoros a rich or poor country?

Can you drink alcohol in Comoros?

  • While alcohol is not widely available in Comoros due to its majority Muslim population, it can be found in nightclubs and some restaurants catering to foreigners.

Why is Comoros famous?

  • Comoros is famous for its fragrant plants used in the production of perfumes and essential oils, as well as its unique blend of Arabic, African, Indian, and Western influences in its music and dance culture.

Related: Countries in the World