Counties in Delaware

Full List of All Counties in Delaware

Delaware has only three counties, making it the state with the fewest counties in the U.S. Here is the complete list:

  1. Kent County
  2. New Castle County
  3. Sussex County
Delaware map and seal
Delaware map and seal


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography Smallest U.S. state by area, located in the Mid-Atlantic region
History First state to join the Union in 1787, known as the “First State”
Economy Known for its chemical industry, agriculture, and being a corporate haven
Climate Humid subtropical climate with moderate to heavy rainfall
Natural Attractions Rehoboth Beach, Cape Henlopen State Park, Bombay Hook Wildlife Refuge
Culture Known for its colonial history and Delaware State Fair
Miscellaneous State bird is the Delaware Blue Hen, State flower is the Peach Blossom
Population Approximately 973,000 people as of 2020 Census
Notable People Joe Biden, E.I. du Pont, Valerie Bertinelli
Notable Places Winterthur Museum, Hagley Museum, Delaware Art Museum
Bordering States Borders Maryland to the south and west, Pennsylvania to the north, and New Jersey to the northeast across the Delaware River
Official Website


How many counties are in Delaware?

Delaware is divided into three counties: New Castle, Kent, and Sussex. It has the fewest number of counties of any state in the United States.

Why does Delaware have 3 counties?

Delaware originally formed as a part of the Pennsylvania colony, and its three counties were established by 1680 to administer local governance more efficiently. When Delaware separated from Pennsylvania in 1704, it continued to operate as a three-county system, a structure that has remained in place ever since.

What are the three counties in the state of Delaware?

The state of Delaware has three counties:

  • New Castle
  • Kent
  • and Sussex

These counties serve as the primary subdivisions for local governance within the state.

What is the largest county in Delaware?

The largest county in Delaware by land area is Sussex County. It is located in the southern part of the state and encompasses an area of approximately 950 square miles.

Related: List of All 50 States in the United States of America