Counties In Connecticut

Full List of All Counties in Connecticut

Connecticut is divided into 8 counties. Here’s the complete list:

  1. Fairfield County
  2. Hartford County
  3. Litchfield County
  4. Middlesex County
  5. New Haven County
  6. New London County
  7. Tolland County
  8. Windham County
Connecticut map and seal
Connecticut map and seal


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the New England region of the U.S., known for its coastline along Long Island Sound
History 5th state to join the Union in 1788, known as the “Constitution State”
Economy Finance, insurance, manufacturing, and real estate are major industries
Climate Humid continental climate, four distinct seasons
Natural Attractions Thimble Islands, Mystic Seaport, Kent Falls
Culture Known for its historical landmarks, maritime culture, and academic institutions
Miscellaneous State bird is the American Robin, State flower is the Mountain Laurel, Nickname is “The Nutmeg State”
Population Approximately 3.6 million people as of 2020 Census
Notable People Mark Twain, Harriet Beecher Stowe, P.T. Barnum
Notable Places Yale University, Mystic Aquarium, Gillette Castle
Bordering States Borders Massachusetts to the north, Rhode Island to the east, and New York to the west and south
Official Website


What is the richest county in CT?

Fairfield County

Fairfield County is generally considered the richest county in Connecticut. The county is located in the southwestern corner of the state and is part of the New York metropolitan area. Fairfield County is home to many affluent towns, such as Greenwich, Westport, and Darien. These towns often feature in lists of the wealthiest communities in the United States.

How is Connecticut so rich?

Connecticut is ranked as the sixth richest state in America, according to 24/7 Wall St.’s “Richest and Poorest States” report. The financial news website says high educational attainment and a large number of advanced, high-paying jobs have likely contributed to a high concentration of wealth in Connecticut

How many counties are there in Connecticut?

Connecticut has a total of 8 counties. These counties are Fairfield, Hartford, Litchfield, Middlesex, New Haven, New London, Tolland, and Windham. Unlike in some other states, the function of county government in Connecticut has been mostly eliminated, with most governmental functions and services provided at the state or municipal level. Therefore, the counties mainly serve as geographical divisions rather than as units of local government. Please note that information may have changed, so it may be a good idea to consult the most current sources for the latest information.

What does Connecticut have instead of counties?

A strong emphasis on municipal and state-level governance in Connecticut, including special-purpose districts and Councils of Governments for regional issues, makes up for the absence of operational county governments. The state’s 169 autonomous municipalities and various state agencies handle functions like education, policing, and public health, while the historical counties remain only as geographical and statistical markers.

Why did Connecticut get rid of counties?

Connecticut eliminated its county governments in 1960 due to redundancies with municipal and state functions, a desire to streamline operations, and its small size. While the counties still exist geographically and statistically, local governments or state agencies have taken over their functions.

RelatedFull List of All 50 States in the United States of America (USA)