Cities, Towns and Villages in Franklin County Indiana

Here is a complete list of cities, towns, communities and villages in Franklin County, Indiana


  • Brookville (County Seat)


  • Laurel
  • Cedar Grove
  • Mount Carmel
  • Oldenburg

Communities and Villages

  • Blooming Grove
  • Bath
  • Metamora
  • Peppertown
  • Andersonville
  • Klemmes Corner
  • New Trenton
  • Oak Forest
  • Rockdale
  • Saint Peter’s
  • Yellow Bank

Quick Facts

  • Location: Franklin County is located in the southeastern part of the state of Indiana, United States.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Franklin County is Brookville.
  • Area: Franklin County covers an area of approximately 391 square miles (approximately 1,013 square kilometers).
  • Geography: The county features a diverse landscape with rolling hills, valleys, and agricultural areas. It is known for its scenic countryside, including parts of the Whitewater River.
  • Notable Places:
    • Brookville Lake: A popular recreational area offering boating, fishing, and hiking opportunities.
    • Whitewater Canal State Historic Site and Metamora: Featuring a restored 19th-century canal town.
  • Economy: The economy of Franklin County is primarily based on agriculture, manufacturing, and tourism. Agriculture includes corn, soybeans, livestock, and dairy farming. Manufacturing sectors encompass automotive components, metal fabrication, and small industrial enterprises.
  • Education: The county is served by various public school districts and educational institutions. Brookville houses Franklin County High School as well as elementary and middle schools.
  • History: Established in 1811, Franklin County was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, one of the Founding Fathers of the United States. The region has a rich history tied to early settlement, agriculture, and transportation, notably the development of the Whitewater Canal.
  • Official Website: The official website of Franklin County, Indiana is

What is Franklin County Indiana famous for?

  • Brookville Lake: This reservoir is a popular recreational spot for boating, fishing, camping, and hiking. It attracts outdoor enthusiasts and visitors seeking natural beauty and outdoor activities.
  • Whitewater Canal State Historic Site and Metamora: The restored canal town of Metamora and the Whitewater Canal State Historic Site offer insights into the area’s history, featuring preserved buildings, shops, and canal-related exhibits.
  • Scenic Countryside: The county is renowned for its picturesque countryside, rolling hills, valleys, and agricultural landscapes. It’s a destination for those seeking scenic drives and a glimpse of rural Indiana.
  • Agricultural Heritage: Franklin County has a rich agricultural heritage, known for its farming communities producing corn, soybeans, livestock, and dairy products. Agriculture plays a significant role in the local economy.
  • Historical Significance: The county has historical significance tied to its early settlement and the development of transportation networks, including the Whitewater Canal. It was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, a key figure in American history.
  • Community Events: The county hosts various community events, festivals, and fairs throughout the year, celebrating local culture, heritage, and agriculture.

How big is Franklin County Indiana?

Franklin County, Indiana, covers an area of approximately 391 square miles, which is roughly equivalent to about 1,013 square kilometers.

What is the largest town in Franklin County Indiana?

The largest town in Franklin County, Indiana, is Brookville, which also serves as the county seat.

Leave a Reply