Cities, Towns and Communities in Harrison County Indiana

Here is a complete list of cities, towns and communities in Harrison County, Indiana


  • Corydon (county seat)


  • Elizabeth
  • Laconia
  • Mauckport
  • New Amsterdam
  • New Middletown
  • Palmyra

Unincorporated Communities

  • Central
  • Crandall
  • Depauw
  • Dogwood
  • Georgetown
  • Lanesville
  • Mott Station
  • New Boston
  • New Salisbury
  • Ramsey
  • White Cloud

Quick Facts

  • Location: Harrison County is situated in the southern part of the state of Indiana, in the Midwestern United States.
  • County Seat: The county seat of Harrison County is Corydon.
  • Population: As of the last recorded data, the population of Harrison County was around 40,000 people.
  • Area: The total area of Harrison County covers approximately 487 square miles (1,261 square kilometers).
  • Geography: The county features a mix of rural landscapes, rolling hills, forests, and farmland. It’s known for its scenic beauty and natural attractions.
  • Notable Places: Notable places in Harrison County include the Corydon Capitol State Historic Site (site of Indiana’s first state capital), Hayswood Nature Reserve, O’Bannon Woods State Park, and Squire Boone Caverns.
  • Economy: Harrison County’s economy is diverse, including industries such as agriculture, manufacturing, healthcare, and tourism. The county benefits from its proximity to the Louisville metropolitan area in neighboring Kentucky.
  • Education: The county is served by several school districts, including South Harrison Community Schools and North Harrison Community Schools, offering educational opportunities to its residents.
  • History: Harrison County was established in 1808 and was named after William Henry Harrison, a U.S. president. It holds historical significance, being the site of the Constitutional Convention in 1816 when Indiana became a state.
  • Official Website:

What is Harrison County Indiana famous for?

  • Historical Significance: It holds immense historical significance as the site of Indiana’s first state capital in Corydon. The county hosted the state’s Constitutional Convention in 1816, leading to Indiana’s statehood.
  • Scenic Beauty and Natural Attractions: Harrison County boasts scenic beauty with rolling hills, forests, and natural landmarks. Attractions like Hayswood Nature Reserve, O’Bannon Woods State Park, and Squire Boone Caverns draw visitors interested in outdoor activities and exploration.
  • Corydon Capitol State Historic Site: As the location of Indiana’s first state capital, Corydon is home to a historic site commemorating this pivotal period in the state’s history. The site offers insights into Indiana’s early governance and heritage.
  • Squire Boone Caverns: The county is known for Squire Boone Caverns, a popular tourist destination featuring cavern tours, zip lines, and historical exhibits related to frontiersman Squire Boone.
  • Rural Charm: The county’s rural landscapes, including farmland, small towns, and peaceful countryside, contribute to its appeal, offering a serene and picturesque environment.

How big is Harrison County, Indiana?

Harrison County, Indiana, covers an area of approximately 487 square miles (1,261 square kilometers).

What is the largest town in Harrison County, Indiana?

The largest town in Harrison County, Indiana, is Corydon, which also serves as the county seat.

Leave a Reply