Cities and Towns in Pottawatomie County, Kansas

List of All Cities, Towns, and Villages in Pottawatomie County, Kansas

Pottawatomie County is located in the northeastern part of the state of Kansas, United States. The county is situated in the Flint Hills region and is bordered by the Kansas River to the south.

The county seat of Pottawatomie County is Westmoreland, and the city of Manhattan, home to Kansas State University, is one of the prominent communities within the county.


  • Manhattan
  • Wamego


  • Belvue
  • Emmett
  • Havensville
  • Louisville
  • Olsburg
  • Onaga
  • St. George
  • St. Marys
  • Westmoreland

Villages in Pottawatomie County, Kansas

There are no Villages in Pottawatomie County, Kansas

Quick Facts about Pottawatomie County, Kansas

  • County Seat: Westmoreland
  • Founded: 1857
  • Named After: The Pottawatomie Native American tribe
  • Area: Approximately 862 square miles
  • Population (as of the 2020 Census): 25,479
  • Major River: Kansas River
  • Educational Hub: Home to Kansas State University in Manhattan
  • Notable Features: Tuttle Creek Lake, Kansas River, Konza Prairie Biological Station
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of Tuttle Creek Lake?

Tuttle Creek Lake is a reservoir on the Big Blue River, providing flood control, water supply, and recreational opportunities such as boating and fishing.

Tell us about the role of Kansas State University in Pottawatomie County.

Kansas State University, located in Manhattan, is a major educational and research institution, contributing to the county’s academic and cultural landscape.

Are there any annual events or festivals in Pottawatomie County?

Pottawatomie County hosts various events, including community festivals, fairs, and cultural celebrations, offering entertainment for residents and visitors.

What is Konza Prairie Biological Station known for?

The Konza Prairie Biological Station is a renowned ecological research site known for its tallgrass prairie ecosystem and scientific studies on biodiversity and conservation.

Pottawatomie County, Kansas map
Pottawatomie County, Kansas map


Read More

Cities and Communities in Osage County, Kansas

Cities and Communities in Norton County, Kansas

List of Cities and Communities in Ness County, Kansas

Cities and Towns in Neosho County, Kansas

Cities and Communities in Osborne County, Kansas

All Cities and Towns in Nemaha County, Kansas

Cities and Towns in Morton County, Kansas

Cities, Towns and Villages in Morris County, Kansas

Full List of Cities, Towns and Villages in Montgomery County, Kansas