Counties in West Virginia

West Virginia is divided into 55 counties. Here is the complete list:

Complete List of All Counties in West Virginia

1. Barbour County
2. Berkeley County
3. Boone County
4. Braxton County
5. Brooke County
6. Cabell County
7. Calhoun County
8. Clay County
9. Doddridge County
10. Fayette County
11. Gilmer County
12. Grant County
13. Greenbrier County
14. Hampshire County
15. Hancock County
16. Hardy County
17. Harrison County
18. Jackson County
19. Jefferson County
20. Kanawha County
21. Lewis County
22. Lincoln County
23. Logan County
24. McDowell County
25. Marion County
26. Marshall County
27. Mason County
28. Mercer County
29. Mineral County
30. Mingo County
31. Monongalia County
32. Monroe County
33. Morgan County
34. Nicholas County
35. Ohio County
36. Pendleton County
37. Pleasants County
38. Pocahontas County
39. Preston County
40. Putnam County
41. Raleigh County
42. Randolph County
43. Ritchie County
44. Roane County
45. Summers County
46. Taylor County
47. Tucker County
48. Tyler County
49. Upshur County
50. Wayne County
51. Webster County
52. Wetzel County
53. Wirt County
54. Wood County
55. Wyoming County

Quick Facts about West Virginia

A table of quick facts about West Virginia:

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the Appalachian region of the U.S.; mountainous terrain
History Admitted to the Union on June 20, 1863; only state to form by seceding from a Confederate state
Economy Mainly based on coal mining, healthcare, and manufacturing
Climate Varies from humid subtropical in the lowlands to a cooler, alpine climate in the mountains
Natural Attractions New River Gorge, Seneca Rocks, Blackwater Falls
Culture Rich Appalachian heritage, known for bluegrass music and traditional festivals
Miscellaneous State bird is the Northern Cardinal, State flower is the Rhododendron
Population Approximately 1.7 million as of 2020 Census
Notable People Patsy Cline, Chuck Yeager, Don Knotts
Notable Places Charleston, Huntington, Morgantown
Official Website


Related: List of All 50 States in USA