Cities, Towns and Villages in Contra Costa County, California


Contra Costa County, California, is part of the San Francisco Bay Area and is known for its suburban communities and diverse landscapes. Here is a list of cities, towns, and villages in Contra Costa County


  1. Antioch
  2. Brentwood
  3. Clayton
  4. Concord (largest city)
  5. Danville
  6. El Cerrito
  7. Hercules
  8. Lafayette
  9. Martinez (County Seat)
  10. Moraga
  11. Oakley
  12. Orinda
  13. Pinole
  14. Pittsburg
  15. Pleasant Hill
  16. Richmond
  17. San Pablo
  18. San Ramon
  19. Walnut Creek


  1. Alamo
  2. Bay Point
  3. Bethel Island
  4. Blackhawk
  5. Byron
  6. Camino Tassajara
  7. Castle Hill
  8. Clyde
  9. Crockett
  10. Diablo
  11. Discovery Bay
  12. East Richmond Heights
  13. El Sobrante
  14. Kensington
  15. Knightsen
  16. Montalvin Manor
  17. Mountain View
  18. Pacheco
  19. Port Costa
  20. Rodeo
  21. Rollingwood
  22. Saranap
  23. Shell Ridge
  24. Vine Hill

Villages in Contra Costa County

  1. Canyon
  2. Cornwall
  3. Nichols
  4. Oleum
  5. Rheem
  6. Selby
  7. Stege
  8. Tassajara
  9. Tormey
  10. Valona

Quick Facts about Contra Costa County, California

  • County Seat: Martinez
  • Largest City: Concord
  • Date Founded: February 18, 1850
  • Total Land Mass: Approximately 720 square miles
  • Population: Approximately 1.15 million (as of 2022)
  • Notable People: Contra Costa County has been home to various individuals, and its notable residents include author Jack London, astronaut Yvonne Cagle, and actor Tom Hanks.
  • Notable Places: Mount Diablo, Eugene O’Neill National Historic Site, Iron Horse Regional Trail, Ruth Bancroft Garden
  • Economy: Diverse, with sectors such as technology, healthcare, and transportation playing significant roles.
  • History: Originally inhabited by Native American tribes, Contra Costa County saw Spanish and Mexican colonization before becoming part of the United States. It has played a key role in developing the San Francisco Bay Area.
  • National Protected Area: Eugene O’Neill National Historic Site
  • Official Website:

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Contra Costa County

Is Mount Diablo open to the public?

Yes, Mount Diablo State Park is open to the public, offering hiking, camping, and panoramic views of the Bay Area. On clear days, the summit offers breathtaking vistas and is accessible by car or hiking.

What is the Iron Horse Regional Trail?

The Iron Horse Regional Trail is a multi-use trail that spans through Contra Costa County, connecting several cities. It is popular for walking, running, and biking and provides a scenic route for outdoor recreation.

Are there cultural attractions in Contra Costa County?

Contra Costa County has cultural attractions, including the Eugene O’Neill National Historic Site, the former home of the Nobel Prize-winning playwright Eugene O’Neill. The Ruth Bancroft Garden in Walnut Creek is also a renowned horticultural attraction.

Contra Costa County, California map
Contra Costa County, California map

See More;

Ariyo Olukayode
Ariyo Olukayode
Ariyo Kayode, a renowned travel and landscape expert, passionately captures the world's beauty through his lens, transforming ordinary landscapes into breathtaking works of art. His dedication extends beyond photography, as he shares his extensive knowledge through workshops and mentorship, standing as a testament to his commitment to showcasing the extraordinary allure of the world. •FacebookTwitter



More like this

Cities, Towns and Villages in Phillips County, Arkansas

List of Cities, Towns, and Villages in Phillips County,...

Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Carroll Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana Cities There...

Cities, Towns, Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana

Cities, Towns and Places in Evangeline Parish, Louisiana Cities There is...