Counties in New Mexico

New Mexico is divided into 33 counties. Here is the complete list:

List of All Counties in New Mexico

  1. Bernalillo County
  2. Catron County
  3. Chaves County
  4. Cibola County
  5. Colfax County
  6. Curry County
  7. De Baca County
  8. Doña Ana County
  9. Eddy County
  10. Grant County
  11. Guadalupe County
  12. Harding County
  13. Hidalgo County
  14. Lea County
  15. Lincoln County
  16. Los Alamos County
  17. Luna County
  18. McKinley County
  19. Mora County
  20. Otero County
  21. Quay County
  22. Rio Arriba County
  23. Roosevelt County
  24. Sandoval County
  25. San Juan County
  26. San Miguel County
  27. Santa Fe County
  28. Sierra County
  29. Socorro County
  30. Taos County
  31. Torrance County
  32. Union County
  33. Valencia County
New Mexico map and seal
New Mexico map and seal

Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the Southwestern region of the U.S.
History Became a state on January 6, 1912
Economy Known for oil and gas production, agriculture, and tourism
Climate Diverse climate with arid, semiarid, and mountainous areas
Natural Attractions Carlsbad Caverns, White Sands National Park, Taos Pueblo
Culture Rich Native American and Hispanic heritage
Miscellaneous State bird is the Greater Roadrunner, State flower is the Yucca
Population Approximately 2.1 million as of 2020 Census
Notable People Georgia O’Keeffe, Billy the Kid, Demi Moore
Notable Places Santa Fe, Albuquerque, Taos
Bordering States Borders Colorado to the north, Oklahoma and Texas to the east, Arizona to the west, and Mexico to the south
Official Website



Related: List of All 50 States in USA