Cities, Towns, and Villages in Jefferson County, Kansas

List of All Cities, Towns, and Villages in Jefferson County, Kansas

Jefferson County is located in the northeastern part of the state of Kansas, United States. Oskaloosa serves as the county seat of Jefferson County


  • Oskaloosa (County Seat)
  • Valley Falls
  • Meriden
  • McLouth
  • Nortonville
  • Winchester
  • Grantville


There are no Towns in Jefferson County, Kansas

Villages in Jefferson County, Kansas

There are no Villages in Jefferson County, Kansas

Quick Facts about Jefferson County, Kansas

  • County Seat: Oskaloosa
  • Founded: 1855
  • Named After: Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States
  • Area: Approximately 556 square miles
  • Population (as of the 2020 Census): 19,198
  • Major Lakes/Rivers: Kansas River, Perry Lake
  • Main Highways: U.S. Route 59, U.S. Route 24, Kansas Highway 4
  • Notable Attractions: Perry Lake, Jefferson County Courthouse, and the Old Jefferson Town historic site.
  • Economy: Agriculture, manufacturing, and services contribute to the county’s economy.
  • History: Jefferson County was established in 1855, and its history is tied to the settlement of pioneers, agriculture, and the development of communities.
  • Outdoor Activities: The county offers outdoor activities such as boating and fishing at Perry Lake, and exploring historic sites.
  • Official Website:

What recreational activities are available at Perry Lake in Jefferson County?

Perry Lake offers a range of recreational activities, including boating, fishing, camping, and hiking around the lake.

Are there historical sites to visit in Jefferson County?

Yes, Old Jefferson Town is a historic site in Oskaloosa that features restored and preserved buildings from the 19th century.

What role does agriculture play in Jefferson County’s economy?

Agriculture is a significant contributor to Jefferson County’s economy, with farms producing crops and livestock.

Can visitors tour the Jefferson County Courthouse in Oskaloosa?

Yes, the Jefferson County Courthouse is open to the public, and visitors can tour the historic building and learn about its significance.

Jefferson County, Kansas map
Jefferson County, Kansas map

Read More