How To Hide Hour Profile Picture Or Remove The Last Hour On Telegram

We have more Privacy with Telegram than with other similar apps. Unlike WhatsApp, they can communicate with you without your phone number by using a username rather than your phone number. However, you may use Telegram’s privacy settings to hide the latest connection time, for example, or prevent strangers from seeing your profile image.

Telegram’s privacy settings are simple to alter, and it includes a variety of options that we may tailor to our specific needs based on how we intend to use the app. For example, you may erase the time of your last connection, much like in WhatsApp, but you can also prevent them from knowing if you are online or not.

Messages that self-destruct

Beyond changing the available options, Telegram includes an important feature that promotes Privacy: hidden chats or self-destructing messages. If WhatsApp (and Telegram) allow us to remove a sent message, we can have them delete themselves without touching them one by one in this instance. As a result, when we talk to someone, our messages vanish in a matter of seconds. It also contains the following intriguing features:

  • They use end-to-end encryption
  • They leave no trace on the server
  • They have message self-destruction
  • Prevent forwarding messages
  • I can’t take a screenshot

To get to these talks, all we have to do is open a specific conversation on our phones:

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the pencil in the lower right corner to create a conversation
  • Choose the option «New secret chat.»
  • Choose the contact you want to have the conversation with

Self destruct time

You won’t be able to snap a screenshot in this conversation, and the messages will self-destruct. To set them up, go to “Configure self-destruction” by tapping the three dots in the upper right corner. Select the frequency with which you wish messages to be automatically deleted:

  • Off
  • 1 second – 30 seconds (you choose the interval you want)
  • 1 minute
  • 1 hour
  • One day
  • One week

You will not be aware of their presence, and they will vanish without a trace.

Username

Telegram does not require your phone number to communicate with you or add you to groups. You don’t have to have a username, although it makes sense if you don’t want to be found or if you don’t want to give out your phone number. If you don’t mind, you can do it the same way you do it on WhatsApp: offer your phone number.

You can have an alias or username that people can use to look for you in the Telegram search engine. Once you have it, you can also send them a link with your username, which they can open on their phone to start a Telegram discussion with you instantly, and you can talk to them as if you had their phone number. But not with your phone number. This would greatly increase Privacy and security because simply deleting or blocking them will prevent them from contacting you, calling you, or sending you messages through other programs.

Even if they write to you and you respond, even if you communicate with them, Telegram will never reveal your phone number to them until you do so yourself. Following a few simple steps, you can select a username:

  • Open your Telegram application
  • Go to the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Tap on “Settings”
  • You will see “Username” in the ” Account” section
  • Tap on this option
  • Enter your username
  • Confirm and save

To remove the username, follow the steps below and leave the space blank. It will not change or delete any of your existing discussions.

Last time and online

Apart from not knowing your phone number, you may also change your Telegram privacy settings so that you don’t know if you’re online or not.

  • Go to your Telegram application
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Look for the section “Privacy and security.”

Here you will see seven different options:

  • Blocked
  • Phone number
  • Last time and online
  • Profile picture
  • Forwarded messages
  • Calls
  • Groups and channels

You’ll get three alternatives if you select “Last time and online.”

  • Everyone
  • My contacts
  • No one

Choose one based on whether you want the entire world to see you online or know what time you joined, or mark “My contacts” if you only want your phone book contacts to know. You can also hide it so that no one sees it. Remember that those who do not view you as you have configured them will not see the last time or your online status. Yes, something along the lines of “a few days ago” or “a few weeks ago” will appear.

One of the advantages of Telegram’s privacy settings over WhatsApp is choosing which users we don’t want to share with.

Follow the instructions outlined above.

  • Tap on “Add exceptions.”
  • Click on “Do not share with …”
  • Add users from your calendar

These folks will not be able to see your last hour or your internet connection.

Profile picture

You can also choose whether or not your profile photo is visible to your contacts or the general public.

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Go to Settings
  • Open the Privacy and security section
  • Tap on Profile Picture
  • Choose
  • Everyone
  • My contacts
  • Add exceptions
  • Add users.
  • Choose the people from your plan that you want to add.

Groups and channels

Telegram groups differ from channels in that you can write as another user, whereas channels allow you to read the material provided by the founder or administrators. You can join one or the other by following a link, but the author may also add you unless you disable it in the application’s privacy settings.

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Go to Settings
  • Tap on Privacy and security
  • Open the section “Groups and channels.”
  • Choose who can add you
  • Everyone
  • My contacts
  • Add exceptions to the general rule

Other security options

Other security choices that will help us have better Privacy can be found by following the same processes as the above. For instance, we can determine who can make calls and who can add a link to your account when forwarding messages, and whether or not to add exceptions. These two alternatives can be found in the same way as the previous ones: by going to the “Privacy and Security” section and looking through the various groups and subsections.

Active sessions

More Telegram choices will strengthen your security with the application and what you will notice among the privacy options, which protects you from your contacts or what they may do or see. For example, how to see where a session has been opened, on which devices and when, from what IP, and so on, or cancel all active sessions. If you have been able to leave an account open on your work computer, at the institution, or elsewhere, you can consult them, delete them, and close all sessions.

  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Open Settings in the options menu
  • Tap on the “privacy and security” section
  • Scroll to the bottom
  • Tap on “Active sessions.”
  • You will see the current session and all active sessions
  • The application used / Web version
  • Phone / Computer
  • IP address
  • Location
  • Date of connection
  • Tap on “Close all other sessions.”

Delete my account if I am out

Another benefit of Telegram is that your account will expire if you haven’t used it in a while. If you do not visit the site at least once during the specified period, your account, as well as all of your chats and contacts, will be destroyed. So it’s beneficial if you’ve misplaced your phone or just removed the app and don’t want your discussions to remain on your phone even if you’re not using it.

  • Open Telegram
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner
  • Go to Privacy and security
  • Tap on
  • Delete my account if I am out
  • Choose how long you want it to take to be deleted
  • One month
  • Three months
  • Six months
  • One year

Source: https://editorialtimes.com/

Scroll to Top