HomeNewsINEC Declares Gov. Obaseki Winner of Edo Poll

INEC Declares Gov. Obaseki Winner of Edo Poll

Governor Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared the winner of the Edo State gubernatorial election.

He pulled a total votes cast of 307,955 to defeat his closest rival Pst. Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Governor Obaseki was returned elected as the second term governor of Edo State, after polling the highest number of votes in the keenly-contested poll conducted on Saturday.

INEC Returning Officer for the poll declared governor Obaseki as the winner of the Saturday election at the office of the electoral commission in Benin City, which was used for the final collation results.

According to INEC, governor Obaseki scored 307,955 while Ize-Iyamu got 223, 619 votes.

A total of 14 political parties fielded candidates to contest for the office of the governor in Edo state.

Leave a Reply

- Advertisment -

Most Popular