HomeGuidesDeactivate vs. Delete Facebook Account

Deactivate vs. Delete Facebook Account

Deactivate vs. Delete Facebook Account – If you desire to take a break from Facebook, you can deactivate or delete your account.

We’ve all been overwhelmed by social media at one point or another, but before you take a step back, consider whether you want to quit using Facebook temporarily or permanently.

We’ll explain the difference between deactivating and canceling your Facebook account in this article, as well as how to do so.

The difference between deactivating and deleting a Facebook account?

  • Most of your information is hidden when you deactivate your Facebook account, but you can reactivate it at any time. If you delete your Facebook account, you will lose access to it and will not be able to regain it.
  • Simply said, if you want to permanently quit using Facebook, delete it. Deactivate your account, on the other hand, if you prefer a brief social media detox.
  • Your friends and followers will only see your already sent messages once you deactivate your account. Until you decide to reactivate, your information will be hidden.
  • Logging into Facebook with your existing user name and password is all it takes to reactivate your account. You’ll be able to see your photographs and posts after your account is reactivated, as well as reconnect with your followers and Facebook groups.

What is the best way to deactivate your Facebook account?

Follow these procedures to delete your Facebook account:

  • Go to your Facebook profile page.
  • Select Settings & Privacy > Settings from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Facebook Information from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Deactivation and Deletion from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Deactivate Account from the drop-down menu.
  • Continue to Account Deactivation by clicking Continue.
  • Confirm that the device has been deactivated.

Most of your information will be hidden when you confirm deactivation, even from your friends and followers.
Simply log in to your account or use your Facebook to access other websites if you opt to reactivate your account. To complete the reactivation, you’ll need your phone or email.

How can I permanently remove my Facebook account?

In the event that you don’t want to use the platform any longer? You have the option of deleting your Facebook account and not being able to reactivate it in the future. The steps are nearly identical to those for deactivating.

Read also: How To Uninstall And Install Facebook | Install And Uninstall Facebook Account

To permanently delete your Facebook  account, follow the steps below;

  • Go to your Facebook profile page.
  • Select Settings & Privacy > Settings from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Facebook Information from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Deactivation and Deletion from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Permanently Delete Account from the drop-down menu.
  • Continue to Account Deletion by clicking Continue.
  • Choose Delete Account from the drop-down menu and enter your password.
  • Continue by pressing the Enter key.

Your Facebook profile, posts, Messenger interactions, and photos will be permanently deleted, with no way to recover them. Messages sent to friends, on the other hand, will remain visible.

If you want to remove your Facebook account, you have 30 days to do so before it is permanently destroyed. You have 30 days to determine whether or not you want your Facebook account deleted. The canceling process is as simple as going to Facebook settings and selecting Cancel Deletion.

How do you get your Facebook information?

Follow these procedures to obtain your Facebook data:

  • Go to your Facebook profile page.
  • Select Settings & Privacy > Settings from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Your Facebook Information from the drop-down menu.
  • Click View next to Download Your Information.
  • By clicking on the boxes on the right, you can select the type of data you want to download.
  • You’ll be able to choose the format of your data as well as its quality. You’ll also have the option of specifying a date range.
  • To confirm the download request, click Create File after selecting the information you want to download.

How to modify your Facebook privacy settings.

If you’re thinking about deactivating or deleting your Facebook account for privacy grounds, instead of abandoning the network altogether, try altering the privacy settings first.

Read also: 5 Steps to LinkedIn Group Success: How to Create and Manage a Successful Group

To modify your Facebook privacy setting, utilize these steps to do so:

  • Go to your Facebook profile page.
  • Select Settings & Privacy > Settings from the drop-down menu.
  • Select Privacy from the menu on the left.

You can now change your privacy settings, such as who can see your posts and who can add you as a friend.

After you’ve deleted Facebook, what’s next?

1. Your Instagram account should be deleted.

People frequently forget about Instagram after they remove Facebook. Many individuals use Facebook’s sister network, Instagram, and until you deactivate both, Facebook will keep your data. If you’re serious about deletion, you should also delete your Instagram account.

2. Get rid of your Twitter account.

To customize the adverts for you, Twitter uses everything except direct communications. It also has your IP address, device kind, and contacts from other apps like email. Learn how to delete your Twitter account if you wish to put an end to it.

3. Notify others that your Facebook account has been deleted.

Don’t forget to let your contacts know what you’re up to. Even though we’ve highlighted some of Facebook’s drawbacks, it’s still a great location to keep in touch with friends and colleagues. If you accelerate the deletion process, you risk severing fragile relationships with people you care about.

4. Encrypt your web traffic to reclaim your privacy.

Take your online security and privacy to the next level once you remove Facebook.

There are numerous traps along the process that allow Facebook to keep some of your information. Facebook utilizes a variety of methods to keep its hooks in your life, including installing cookies and trackers on your browser to monitor your online behavior.

Read more about facebook on editorialtimes.com

- Advertisment -

Most Popular