Governorates in Lebanon

Lebanon has 8 governorates. Here is a list of all the governorates in Lebanon:

  1. Beirut
  2. Mount Lebanon
  3. North Lebanon
  4. South Lebanon
  5. Nabatieh
  6. Beqaa
  7. Baalbek-Hermel
  8. Akkar

Quick Facts about Lebanon

  • Location: Lebanon is a country in Western Asia, bordered by Syria to the north and east and Israel to the south.
  • Capital: Beirut
  • Official Language: Arabic
  • Population: Approximately 6.8 million (2022)
  • Area: Lebanon covers an area of about 10,452 square kilometers (4,036 square miles).
  • Geography: Lebanon is characterized by a narrow coastal plain, the Lebanon Mountains, and the Beqaa Valley.
  • Government: Lebanon has a parliamentary democratic system.
  • Currency: Lebanese Pound (LBP)
  • Notable Places: Lebanon is known for the historic city of Byblos, the Cedars of Lebanon, and the vibrant city of Beirut.
  • Official Website:

What is the significance of the Cedars of Lebanon?

The Cedars of Lebanon are historic and ancient cedar trees that have cultural and symbolic importance. They are mentioned in the Bible and have been a symbol of Lebanon.

Is Lebanon a diverse country?

Yes, Lebanon has a religious and cultural diversity. It is home to various religious communities, including Maronite Christians, Sunni and Shia Muslims, and others.

What is the climate like in Lebanon?

Lebanon has a Mediterranean climate with hot and dry summers and cool, wet winters. The coastal areas experience milder temperatures compared to the mountainous regions.

What is the cuisine like in Lebanon?

Lebanese cuisine is renowned for its diverse and flavorful dishes, including mezze, kebabs, falafel, and various sweets such as baklava.

Lebanon map
Lebanese map


Read More: