HomeNews ArticlesHow to Delete Facebook Account Permanently

How to Delete Facebook Account Permanently

 Facebook is one of the biggest social media platforms on the web.

Still, sometimes, users of Facebook may need to delete their account for some valuable reasons; still, they can’t do that because there is no direct option for deleting account, hence, in this post, we at Editorialtimes.com will teach/show you how to delete the FB account permanently, which is much different from merely deactivating the account.

Not everyone using this social network knows how simple it is to delete, but the truth remains that it’s quite simple, so follow our guide!

Check Out: Deactivate Facebook Account Temporarily

What’s the difference between deleting or deactivating an account on Facebook?

There are mainly 2 different ways to get your Facebook account offline/invisible to the public domain. The first one is account deactivation, which implies the following:

  • You can re-activate your account whenever it’s okay with you.
  • People cannot see or view your Facebook Timeline, nor search for you via the find friends or through the search bar.
  • Some shared information may still remain visible (info like messages you’ve sent to other users)
  • Facebook always keeps your account information (e.g., friends and interests) just in case you choose to reactivate it again.

But deleting an account is a more serious matter. If you delete your Facebook account, the following happens:

  • You cannot regain access to your FB account once it’s deleted. It’s permanent!
  • Facebook often delays the deletion of accounts for days or months (about 14 to 90 days after the deletion request is made). If you log in or access linked account during the grace period, the deletion is automatically canceled
  • It does take up to 90-days for your information that’s stored in FB backup systems to be deleted entirely. However, your data isn’t accessible on Facebook during this period.
  • Some things won’t be stored in your account, like the messages that you’ve sent to friends – these will remain active.
  • Copies of some material (e.g., log records) may remain on Facebook’s database but are completely “disassociated from personal identifiers,” according to the company (Facebook)

Deleting your account on Facebook is a serious decision, so ensure that it’s definitely the right decision for you and that you won’t be needing that account ever again.

ON PC

Classic Facebook
To permanently delete your account:
  1. Click  at the top right of any Facebook page.
  2. Click Settings then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  4. Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  5. Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.
New Facebook
  1. Click  in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Settings.
  3. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  4. Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
  6. Click Delete Account, enter your password, and then click Continue.

ON MOBILE

To permanently delete your account:
  1. Tap More in the right of Facebook.
  2. Scroll down and tap Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings.
  3. Scroll down to the Your Facebook Information section, then tap Account Ownership and Control.
  4. Tap Deactivation and Deletion.
  5. Choose Delete Account and tap Continue to Account Deletion.
  6. Scroll down and tap Delete Account.
  7. Enter your password, tap Continue, and then tap Delete Account.

As a bonus, this is a shorter way of deleting your account:

To delete the Facebook account permanently, click on the following link and choose the ‘Delete my account’ option on the page that comes up:

https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account

When you delete your Facebook account, people won’t be able to see it on FB. It may take up to 90-days from the starting of the deletion process to delete all of the things you’ve posted on Facebook, like your status updates, photos, or other information stored in backup systems.

CAN YOU CANCEL YOUR ACCOUNT DELETION?

If it’s been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information.
It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted. While Facebook is deleting this information, it’s not accessible to other people using Facebook.
Copies of your information may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that is used for recovery in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event. Your information may also kept for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts.
To cancel your account deletion:
  1. Log into your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account.
  2. Click Cancel Deletion.

Leave a Reply

- Advertisment -

Most Popular