HomeFootballQatar 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Gernot Rohr Lists 30 Players for...

Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers: Gernot Rohr Lists 30 Players for Liberia and Cape Verde Tie.

Rohr Super Eagles’ coach has invited 30 players for next month’s preliminary rounds of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 qualifier, which Nigeria will host Liberia in Lagos on Friday, 3rd September which is Day 1 of the qualifiers and go away to log horns against Cape Verde in Mindelo on Tuesday, 7th September in the Day 2

Franco-German Rohr sticks largely with his reliable players as the race to Qatar commence, with goalkeepers Maduka Okoye and Francis Uzoho, defenders William Ekong, Leon Balogun, Abdullahi Shehu and Chidozie Awaziem with midfielders Oghenekaro Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi, and attackers Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon, Alex Iwobi, and Victor Osimhen on the roster.

Read also: UEFA Champions League 2021/2022 Group Stage Draw And Men’s Category Award Winners In Full

The issue with England based Nigerian players, who may not be joining Super Eagles to Cape Verde (which, th countrt is on the red list of the British Government with regards to the global coronavirus pandemic) has enlarged the list, and should the situation continue unchanged, the eight UK-based players on the list would return to their respective base after the clash with Liberia at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos on Friday.

A going back for for South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Kevin Akpoguma and Greece-based forward Henry Onyekuru may also be a case to consider too. Former youth international Kingsley Michael is also invited, as Innocent Bonke from Sweden joins the Nigerian camp for the first time in his football career.

The Super Eagles, who in previous six of the past seven FIFA World Cup finals have qualified, host the Lone Star of Liberia at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Surulere, Lagos on Friday, 3rd September by 5pm and then move to the island of Mindelo to tango with the Blue Sharks of Cape Verde on Day 2 of the qualifiers on Tuesday, 7th September.

Central African Republic is another team in the group, and they will line up for play their both legs with the Super Eagles in October.

The Team List

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi and Maduka Okoye.

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun, William Ekong, Olaoluwa Aina, Jamilu Collins, Abdullahi Shehu, Zaidu Sanusi and Kevin Akpoguma.

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo, Wilfred Ndidi, Frank Onyeka and Joseph Ayodele-Aribo.

Attackers: Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi, Samuel Kalu, Victor Osimhen, Kelechi Iheanacho, Moses Simon and Paul Onuachu.

Reserve: Terem Moffi, Henry Onyekuru, Chidera Ejuke, Innocent Bonke Valentine Ozornwafor, Tyronne Ebuehi and Kingsley Michael.

Read more aport stories on editorialtimes.com

- Advertisment -

Most Popular