Best University in Nigeria 2021 NUC Ranking

Nigeria’s Top Universities in 2021: The NUC Ranking

We’ve compiled a list of the country’s top 10 universities based on the most recent rankings from university ranking bodies such as Times Higher Education World University Rankings, World University Rankings, US News & World Report Best Global University Ranking, Academic Ranking of World Universities, and The Reuters Top 100.

Ibadan University is the best university in Nigeria.

In 1947, the University of Ibadan was founded. It began as a College affiliated with the University of London. Academic programs in the arts, science, and medicine were the college’s first offerings.

However, in 1962, it became a fully independent university, and since then, it has expanded to include academic programs in 13 faculties, including:

Arts, Science, Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Agriculture and Forestry, Social Sciences, Education, Veterinary Medicine, Pharmacy, Technology, Law, Public Health, and Dentistry are among the disciplines represented.

The University’s College of Medicine includes the Faculties of Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Public Health, and Dentistry.

There are many academic units at the university. Among them are the following:

Centre for Child Adolescent and Mental Health, Centre for Educational Media Resource Studies, African Regional Centre for Information Science (ARCIS), Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies (CEPACS), Centre for Petroleum, Energy, Economics and Law (CPEEL), Centre for Sustainable Development (CESDEV), and Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies (CEPACS) (CCPZ).
On behalf of the West African Subregion, the UI now hosts the Pan African University Life & Earth Sciences Institute. The program is now in its second year, with 97 students from all around Africa enrolled.

Nsukka University is the second-largest university in Nigeria.

Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe created the University of Nigeria in 1955. The institution, however, was formally established on October 7, 1960.

UNN, as it is known, is made up of four campuses.

Nsukka (University of Nigeria, Nsukka, UNN), Enugu (University of Nigeria, Enugu Campus, UNEC), Ituku-Ozalla (University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, UNTH), and Aba (University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, UNTH) are among the universities in Nigeria (University of Nigeria Aba campus, UNAC).
UNN is the country’s first autonomous university. There are currently 15 faculties and 102 academic departments within the university. There are also 82 undergraduate and 211 postgraduate programs available at the university.

There were 220 students enrolled at UNN when it first opened, with 13 academic staff members. On the 17th of October, 1960, courses began.

The vice Chancellor of UNN has a strong desire to develop a smart university, which has resulted in the Roar Nigeria Hub, which is one of West Africa’s first full-fledged institutions with an embedded ICT hub. The hub is a private-sector venture that is overseen by two university engineering graduates.

UNN has several famous alumni, including:

Godwin Emefiele Okechukwu Charles Soludo, Enelamah (CBN Governor, 2004 -2009)
Herbert Wigwe is a character in the film Herbert Wigwe (CEO, Access Bank)
Dora Akunyili is a Nigerian actress.
Pat Utomi is a Japanese actor.
Odili, Peter
Obi Peter Obi

The University of Lagos, No. 3

The University of Lagos, which was founded in 1962, is one of Nigeria’s premier universities.

The university, sometimes known as UNILAG, has three campuses in Akoka, Yaba, and Surulere.

UNILAG began with 131 students and has since expanded to over 40,000. The university employs 3,365 people. There are a total of 12 faculties:

Basic Medical Science Business Administration Arts Basic Medical Science
Clinical Medicine
Dentistry is a science that deals with teeth.
Engineering, Environmental Science, Law, Pharmacy, Science, and Social Science are some of the fields of study.
UNILAG is the acronym for the University of Lagos, which is also known as the University of First Choice and the Pride of the Nation.

In addition, the university maintains two centers:

African Regional Integration and Borderland Studies Centre for Human Rights

A Distance Learning Institute at the university offers courses in accounting, business administration, science education, and library information services, among other subjects.

#4 Obafemi Awolowo University

Obafemi Awolowo University, formerly known as the University of Ife, was founded in 1962.

In terms of land area, the university is one of the largest in the country. It has a total area of 11,862 hectares.

Because of the size of the property, the institution has a single-core campus with student housing, staff quarters, and a teaching and research farm.

The University was regarded as one of Africa’s top universities in the 1970s and 1980s.

The university has produced multiple National Merit Award recipients as well as a Nobel Laureate.

Several government parastatals are also housed at OAU, including:

The Centre for Energy Research and Development (CERD) is a non-profit organization dedicated to (CERD)
The National Centre for Technology Management (NCTM) is a non-profit organization dedicated to (NACETEM)
English version of the African Regional Centre for Space Science and Technology Education (ARC SSTE-E)
The United Nations Regional Centre for Aerospace Training (UNRCTA) conducted a survey (RECTAS)
The University’s vision is to be one of Africa’s top universities, and the West African sub-technological region’s flagship, as evidenced by its use of modern technology in teaching, research, and community service, as well as the provision of practical solutions to social, cultural, and economic problems.

Covenant University is ranked number five.

Covenant University is often regarded as the greatest private university in the United States. The institution was founded in 2000 to become the world’s top Christian mission university.

The university, however, did not begin operations until March 2002, when the Federal Government granted the institution a license to operate as a Private University.

The approval by the National Universities Commission (NUC) was said to be the quickest in the history of the 16 petitions for private university creation filed with the NUC.

As part of the Liberation Commission, the Bishop of the Living Faith Church established the university.

Spirituality, Possibility Mentality, Capacity Building, Integrity, Responsibility, Diligence, and Sacrifice are all major principles at Covenant University.

The University seeks to reshape the educational environment by relying on a Christian ethos and life-changing ideals as a foundation.

The University’s goal, according to its creator, Dr. David Oyedepo, is to transform its products, or graduates, into expert thinkers, uncommon managers, and hyper-resourceful technocrats in all domains of human endeavor.


Scroll to Top