Counties in New Hampshire

New Hampshire is divided into 10 counties. Here is the complete list:

List of All Counties in New Hampshire

  1. Belknap County
  2. Carroll County
  3. Cheshire County
  4. Coos County
  5. Grafton County
  6. Hillsborough County
  7. Merrimack County
  8. Rockingham County
  9. Strafford County
  10. Sullivan County
New Hampshire map and seal
New Hampshire map and seal


Quick Facts

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the New England region of the U.S.
History One of the original 13 colonies; became a state on June 21, 1788
Economy Known for manufacturing, healthcare, and tourism
Climate Humid continental climate with warm summers and cold winters
Natural Attractions White Mountain National Forest, Lake Winnipesaukee
Culture Famous for its town hall meetings and civic engagement
Miscellaneous State bird is the Purple Finch, State flower is the Purple Lilac
Population Approximately 1.36 million as of 2020 Census
Notable People Adam Sandler, Alan Shepard, Franklin Pierce
Notable Places Concord, Manchester, Portsmouth
Bordering States Borders Vermont to the west, Maine to the east, Massachusetts to the south, and the Canadian province of Quebec to the north
Official Website


What are counties called in New Hampshire?

In New Hampshire, the political subdivisions are called “counties“.

What counties are in northern New Hampshire?

Northern New Hampshire is home to the following counties:

  1. Coos County
  2. Grafton County

Related: List of All 50 States in USA