Counties in Montana

Montana is divided into 56 counties. Here’s the list of those counties:

List of All Counties in Montana

  1. Beaverhead County
  2. Big Horn County
  3. Blaine County
  4. Broadwater County
  5. Carbon County
  6. Carter County
  7. Cascade County
  8. Chouteau County
  9. Custer County
  10. Daniels County
  11. Dawson County
  12. Deer Lodge County
  13. Fallon County
  14. Fergus County
  15. Flathead County
  16. Gallatin County
  17. Garfield County
  18. Glacier County
  19. Golden Valley County
  20. Granite County
  21. Hill County
  22. Jefferson County
  23. Judith Basin County
  24. Lake County
  25. Lewis and Clark County
  26. Liberty County
  27. Lincoln County
  28. Madison County
  29. McCone County
  30. Meagher County
  31. Mineral County
  32. Missoula County
  33. Musselshell County
  34. Park County
  35. Petroleum County
  36. Phillips County
  37. Pondera County
  38. Powder River County
  39. Powell County
  40. Prairie County
  41. Ravalli County
  42. Richland County
  43. Roosevelt County
  44. Rosebud County
  45. Sanders County
  46. Sheridan County
  47. Silver Bow County
  48. Stillwater County
  49. Sweet Grass County
  50. Teton County
  51. Toole County
  52. Treasure County
  53. Valley County
  54. Wheatland County
  55. Wibaux County
  56. Yellowstone County
Montana map and seal
Montana map and seal


Quick Facts about Montana

Category Quick Facts
Geography Located in the Northwestern region of the U.S.
History Became a state on November 8, 1889
Economy Known for agriculture, mining, and tourism
Climate Continental climate with cold winters and mild summers
Natural Attractions Yellowstone National Park, Glacier National Park
Culture Known for outdoor activities, Native American heritage
Miscellaneous State bird is the Western Meadowlark, State flower is the Bitterroot
Population Approximately 1.1 million people as of 2020 Census
Notable People Jeannette Rankin, Gary Cooper, Evel Knievel
Notable Places Billings, Missoula, Bozeman
Bordering States Borders Canada to the north, Idaho to the west and southwest, Wyoming to the south, and North Dakota and South Dakota to the east
Official Website


Related: List of All 50 States in USA